Tag Archives: So Yeon Ryu

Apr
4
2017

Whoa, whoa, whoa. Hold up! That’s going too far, I think, as much as I feel for Lexi Thompson and believe she was robbed of a major. It could also set a dangerous precedent and open way too many doors that would not turn out to be beneficial to anyone. To clarify, Phil Mickelson’s quote in the headline is referring to reversing the result of the tournament and taking the ANA Inspiration trophy away from So Yeon Ryu and giving it to Lexi.

However, I agree with his general comments about the rule and the situation. I mean, holy crap, it’s Tuesday of Masters week and the Lexi rules controversy story is still making headlines! As I said yesterday, it’s great we’re talking about women’s golf (kind of), but it’s for the wrong reasons and it’s more of a general problem in golf and it’s not exactly a good look for the game.

8 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
3
2017

The golf world reacted via social media with outrage and harsh words Sunday evening during the final round of the ANA Inspiration, the first women’s major of the year. This is yet another incident of golf getting in its own way and looking stupid and lame to casual sports fans who already have that impression of the game.

Walking off the 12th green with the lead, Lexi Thompson was informed she was receiving a four-shot penalty for infractions from the third round. A TV viewer notified the LPGA via email that Thompson had marked her ball and improperly replaced it before tapping-in a one-footer on the 17th hole a day earlier. She received two strokes for the incorrect ball placement and then another two shots for signing an incorrect scorecard — the whole situation was absurd, but the latter was more flagrant since she didn’t know at the time.

Despite Lexi’s impressive ability to fight back and respond with back-to-back birdies after receiving the devastating news, she eventually lost in an one-hole playoff to So Yeon Ryu. In other words, this retroactive, unbelievably delayed infraction late in the final round of a major championship cost Thompson the major title.

10 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
30
2013
Dominant

Dominant Park

It was never a question of whether or not Inbee Park would secure her third straight major of the season, it was more a matter of how many would she would win by. Park wasn’t perfect in Sunday’s final round at Sebonack, but she didn’t need to be — she posted a two-over 74 to capture the U.S. Women’s Open by four strokes over I.K. Kim.

11 Comments
Continue Reading

Feb
9
2012

Sarah Kemp: formerly "the next Karrie Webb".

It should come as little surprise, given the idiosyncrasies of Royal Melbourne’s test, that an Australian should lead the way after the opening round of the ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open.

Few, however, could have anticipated that it would fall to New South Wales native Sarah Kemp to lead the field into the tournament’s second day.

1 Comment
Continue Reading

Feb
5
2012

Boeljon birdied the last to take the trophy.

Christel Boeljon, who helped anchor the European team at last year’s Solheim Cup, claimed her second Ladies European Tour victory this afternoon with a birdie at the final hole of the Gold Coast RACV Australian Masters.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Jul
11
2011
By Stephanie Wei under Know Your Asians

Kiss the trophy

Plagued by delays and inclement weather, the US Women’s Open wrapped up on Monday afternoon in Colorado Springs. Finally.

So Yeon Ryu defeated fellow South Korean rival Hee Kyung Seo in a three-hole playoff to capture the major championship. Ryu had three holes in regulation left to play and needed to birdie one of them to force a playoff. She rolled in a six-fotter for birdie on the 18th, and then started the playoff just a half-hour later.

62 Comments
Continue Reading