Tag Archives: Ryuji Imada

May
2
2012

Ryuji Imada helping up the sound guy who tripped on 18 tee...

See, this is what happens when you turn off the interwebs for a day or two! — you miss absurdly funny posts, like the one Deadspin published last Thursday. Now at the risk of getting my wrist slapped or threatened with double-secret probation and icy stares, I’m pointing it out because to ignore it would be an injustice to WUP readers.

3 Comments
Continue Reading

Mar
20
2011
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

After Bubba Watson finished the final round at the Transitions Championship, he ran into a PGA Tour media official in the locker room. “I need your help,” said Bubba. “I want to do my part. I want to give you a check for $50,000.” Of course, the generous gesture is a donation to help the relief effort for the victims of the devastating earthquake and tsunami in Japan.

14 Comments
Continue Reading

Mar
17
2011

*Update: I had to take down the pictures because I just discovered it’s against Tour policy to post photographs from practice rounds.

It only took 13 years, but I’ve finally returned to Innisbrook. You see, I played in a junior golf tournament when I was 14 (I think) and I had just started competing in national events. I saw my first alligator on the golf course — and got relief from one for the first time because my ball was too close to the gator, so it was deemed a “dangerous situation.” I also received relief from a flower bed on No. 9. Best of all, I broke 80 for the first time in competition. So, naturally, Innisbrook has always had a special place in my heart.

4 Comments
Continue Reading

Mar
16
2011
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

In an effort to encourage his fellow PGA Tour players to donate money for the relief effort in Japan, Ryuji Imada, who was born in Mihara, Japan, but moved to the United States at age 14 and played golf at the University of Georgia, drafted the following note on Wednesday evening, which has been distributed to each competitor’s locker at the Transitions Championship.

8 Comments
Continue Reading

Nov
1
2010
By Stephanie Wei under Humor

Ryuji Imada smiling before he's aware that he's been breaking a local rule

Ryuji Imada incurred a 26-stroke penalty in the first round of the Mission Hills Star Trophy, a celebrity pro-am event in China, on Saturday, according to the Golf Channel. Yes, you read that correctly: 26.

Imada, a PGA Tour member, received 13 separate two-stroke penalties. Because of the soft course conditions, players were allowed to lift, clean and place their balls. When this rule is put in effect on the PGA Tour, players are allowed a club length distance to place the ball, so Imada wrongly assumed it was the same. The European and Asian tours permit a scorecard length.

7 Comments
Continue Reading