Tag Archives: Ruling

May
27
2011

The video above is definitely worth a watch — not just because it involves legendary rookie Andres Gonzales and famed official Jon Brendle, but because the audio is so clear, it gives us a closer look at how Tour rules officials handle rulings and serves as another example of a player calling a penalty on himself.

Dres, who is one of the greatest characters on the PGA Tour, along with having the most creative facial hair (random cool fact: he’s growing out his hair to donate to Locks for Love), tried to call a penalty on himself during the first round of the Byron Nelson Championship. Dres was setting up for his approach shot on No. 9. and put his club down on the ground (not directly behind it, more in back of it — pause the video in the first few seconds to see), but then he suddenly backed off because he believed he had caused the ball to move, which meant he had incurred a one-shot penalty.

18 Comments
Continue Reading