Tag Archives: Rules of Golf

May
26
2017

I have to say that you wouldn’t believe the self-restraint I’ve exercised in not using a headline playing off the pun, “Grace under fire.” Because it’s definitely staring me down at the moment. I mean, it’s RIGHT there for the taking, but no, I refuse to give in and I don’t want to talk 30 minutes working it into the *perfect* way to describe Branden Grace’s “controversial” drop in a bunker during the first round of the BMW PGA Championship.

There was quite a bit of outrage from viewers, commentators and players who watched the situation play out on par-4 13th hole at Wentworth Thursday evening. Grace hit his approach into a greenside bunker, which left him with a plugged lie on the upslope — it was less than ideal and I doubt the best bunker player in the world could’ve done anything but make contact with the sand and hope it rolled back to a normal lie in the bunker.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Apr
26
2017

Lexi Thompson spoke with the media for the first time since her heartbreaking loss 24 days ago at the ANA Inspiration after incurring a four-stroke penalty that ultimately cost her the trophy at the LPGA’s opening major of the year. Ahead of this week’s Volunteers of America Texas Shootout, the 22-year-old American held an emotional press conference Wednesday afternoon and broke down in tears at one point as she started to answer a question about the controversial rules infraction that a “concerned” viewer spotted on the telecast from the previous day’s round and brought it to the attention of an LPGA rules official via email during Sunday’s final round.

2 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
25
2017

When reports popped up Monday about the USGA and R&A making a big announcement about a rules change after the massive backlash resulting from Lexi Thompson’s unfortunate four-stroke penalty in the final round of the ANA Inspiration that ultimately cost her the major title.

Naturally, Golf Twitter responded in real time with utter outrage and disbelief, and then, of course, a flood of articles and columns dissecting the incident, Rules of Golf, TV vigilantism, etc. followed for days, which is the norm after such a controversial incident, but this was a special scenario because the women’s first major occurs the week right before the Masters. And usually, once Monday rolls around — the official start of Masters week — any coverage of the ladies’ major gets buried and forgotten because all eyes turn toward Augusta National.

1 Comment
Continue Reading

Apr
4
2017

Whoa, whoa, whoa. Hold up! That’s going too far, I think, as much as I feel for Lexi Thompson and believe she was robbed of a major. It could also set a dangerous precedent and open way too many doors that would not turn out to be beneficial to anyone. To clarify, Phil Mickelson’s quote in the headline is referring to reversing the result of the tournament and taking the ANA Inspiration trophy away from So Yeon Ryu and giving it to Lexi.

However, I agree with his general comments about the rule and the situation. I mean, holy crap, it’s Tuesday of Masters week and the Lexi rules controversy story is still making headlines! As I said yesterday, it’s great we’re talking about women’s golf (kind of), but it’s for the wrong reasons and it’s more of a general problem in golf and it’s not exactly a good look for the game.

8 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
3
2017

Leave it to yet a(nother) incredulous and absurd rules controversy to cloud the discussion and news coming out of Augusta National on Monday of arguably the biggest week in golf. In a regard, I’m glad the ANA Inspiration, one of the five majors in the women’s game, is actually getting attention, and the stories aren’t lost in the usually overwhelming joy and coverage of Masters previews as they have in years past.

Unfortunately, the spotlight isn’t on celebrating a great champion, but it’s golf’s latest rules debacle, which isn’t exactly the most flattering look for a niche sport that seems obsessed with the never-ending discussing on “growing the game.” Well, letting absurd rules incident play out dramatically on live television isn’t doing golf any favors.

4 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
3
2017

The golf world reacted via social media with outrage and harsh words Sunday evening during the final round of the ANA Inspiration, the first women’s major of the year. This is yet another incident of golf getting in its own way and looking stupid and lame to casual sports fans who already have that impression of the game.

Walking off the 12th green with the lead, Lexi Thompson was informed she was receiving a four-shot penalty for infractions from the third round. A TV viewer notified the LPGA via email that Thompson had marked her ball and improperly replaced it before tapping-in a one-footer on the 17th hole a day earlier. She received two strokes for the incorrect ball placement and then another two shots for signing an incorrect scorecard — the whole situation was absurd, but the latter was more flagrant since she didn’t know at the time.

Despite Lexi’s impressive ability to fight back and respond with back-to-back birdies after receiving the devastating news, she eventually lost in an one-hole playoff to So Yeon Ryu. In other words, this retroactive, unbelievably delayed infraction late in the final round of a major championship cost Thompson the major title.

10 Comments
Continue Reading

Jul
29
2016
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Championship

As you may have heard by now, Jordan Spieth had quite an eventful time on the seventh hole (his 16th, started on 10) after pushing his drive right into a puddle on a gravel cart path in the second round of the PGA Championship. I’m going to do my best to explain this overly complicated situation.

After discussing his options with PGA rules official Brad Gregory and attempting at least four drops — which only took 10 minutes — Spieth took relief from casual water and placed the ball (which is the rule after you attempt to drop it twice and it rolls outside of a club length or closer to the hole, etc.). At that point, he was given the green light to hit his shot after making the “best drop of his life.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Jun
21
2016

Dustin Johnson wasn’t just playing the hardest U.S. Open venue on the planet, Oakmont, but he also had forces gravitating against him. Again. At this point, he nearly expects to experience some type of outside forces working against him while he’s in contention at a major championship in the final round.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Jun
21
2016

The USGA released a statement Monday afternoon, saying it regretted the “distraction” caused by the organization’s decision to wait until the end of Dustin Johnson’s round to decide on the ruling regarding the potential infraction that occurred on the fifth green. As the USGA rules officials repeatedly stated afterwards (to the point of absurdity) in interviews and a press conference (which was more like a parody), the whole point was for the USGA to make the correct ruling.

Upon reviewing the video evidence (see below), the officials decided that it “more likely than not” (ugh, so 51%) that Dustin caused the ball to move because apparently the officials disregarded DJ’s word and claim he grounded his putter and shortly after the ball moved.

5 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
9
2016

As you know by now, the gusty, swirling winds at Augusta National continued to wreak havoc in the third round of the Masters. Add that with the extra-firm and “crusty” greens and you’re bound to see something crazy happen. Like the wind blowing a ball off a flat spot on the green into a water hazard. That’s exactly what happened to Billy Horschel on the par-5 15th on Saturday.

Horschel, who was even-par on his round at the time, hit his second shot just short of the green, chipped on to about 10 feet, and marked his ball. He thought he had a good look for birdie when he replaced his ball — that is, until a gust of wind caught it and caused the ball to start rolling into the water hazard guarding the front of the green.

1 Comment
Continue Reading