Tag Archives: Rules controversy

Jul
9
2017

Jon Rahm added to his growing legend with his runaway six-shot victory at the Irish Open at Portstewart GC. The 22-year-old Spaniard fired an impressive seven-under 65 in the final round — and he even missed a three-footer on the 72nd hole — to post 24-under for the championship, breaking the tournament scoring record by three strokes.

Rahm started the final round tied for the lead with American Daniel Im, both of whom posted 54-hole totals of 17-under. But Rahm quickly took control on the front nine, beginning with a hole-out eagle from the fairway on the par-5 4th hole to take the outright lead by two.

2 Comments
Continue Reading

May
26
2017

I have to say that you wouldn’t believe the self-restraint I’ve exercised in not using a headline playing off the pun, “Grace under fire.” Because it’s definitely staring me down at the moment. I mean, it’s RIGHT there for the taking, but no, I refuse to give in and I don’t want to talk 30 minutes working it into the *perfect* way to describe Branden Grace’s “controversial” drop in a bunker during the first round of the BMW PGA Championship.

There was quite a bit of outrage from viewers, commentators and players who watched the situation play out on par-4 13th hole at Wentworth Thursday evening. Grace hit his approach into a greenside bunker, which left him with a plugged lie on the upslope — it was less than ideal and I doubt the best bunker player in the world could’ve done anything but make contact with the sand and hope it rolled back to a normal lie in the bunker.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Apr
4
2017

Whoa, whoa, whoa. Hold up! That’s going too far, I think, as much as I feel for Lexi Thompson and believe she was robbed of a major. It could also set a dangerous precedent and open way too many doors that would not turn out to be beneficial to anyone. To clarify, Phil Mickelson’s quote in the headline is referring to reversing the result of the tournament and taking the ANA Inspiration trophy away from So Yeon Ryu and giving it to Lexi.

However, I agree with his general comments about the rule and the situation. I mean, holy crap, it’s Tuesday of Masters week and the Lexi rules controversy story is still making headlines! As I said yesterday, it’s great we’re talking about women’s golf (kind of), but it’s for the wrong reasons and it’s more of a general problem in golf and it’s not exactly a good look for the game.

8 Comments
Continue Reading

Oct
31
2013
Oh, bloody hell

Oh, bloody hell

Under European Tour policy, Simon Dyson faces a disciplinary hearing over his disqualification for a rules infraction last week at the BMW Masters. Dyson, who was tied for second at the halfway mark, marked his ball on the eighth green and then briskly tapped down a spike mark that was in the line of his short par putt, violating Rule 16-1a.

16 Comments
Continue Reading

Oct
21
2013
Rory's backdoor 2nd! Woot!

Rory jumps up to 2nd!

Things appear to be looking up for Rory McIlroy. After starting the round ten shots out of contention on Sunday, McIlroy posted a final round four-under 67 to finish T2 (three-under total) at the Kolon Korea Open, where the world no. 6 headlined the fledgling field. However, he had a little bit — actually, quite a lot — of help from a fellow competitor.

McIlroy was near the top of the leaderboard the first two rounds, but blew up with a four-over 75, moving the wrong way on Saturday. Then, playing around six groups behind the ultimate twosome on Sunday, he bounced back to place strong. However, late in the day, a bizarre rules controversy involving the leaders Kim Hyung-tae and Kang Sung-hoon, detracted from the actual golf. 

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Jun
15
2013
By Conor Nagle under Rules

Never forget.

Without wanting to rekindle debate on the hot rules controversy of two months ago (Tiger + illegal drop = mediapocalypse),  it’s worth freezing a HD camera in the direction of this column by AP sportswriter Jim Litke.

Wandering Merion in search of an angle Thursday, he happened upon the USGA rules compound, where phone-in queries and accusations are becoming something of a nuisance.

5 Comments
Continue Reading

May
1
2013
The Drop

The Drop

The USGA and R&A issued a statement on Wednesday explaining the ruling that saved Tiger Woods from disqualification at the Masters for taking an illegal drop. Basically, the governing bodies clarified that it will not serve as a precedent for waiving the penalty (disqualification) for signing an incorrect scorecard (see below under “Scope of Committee Discretion to Waive a Penalty of Disqualification for Failure to Return Correct Score”).

Pros (and amateur competitors) must still make sure they return an accurate score, so you can’t pull a “Tiger” — who was extended a lifeline because Fred Ridley, Masters tournament competition committee chairman, made an “erroneous” application of the rule. I know, darn it!

Here is the statement in full:

11 Comments
Continue Reading

May
1
2013
The most famous improper drop in history

The most famous improper drop in history

Fantastic reporting by SI’s Michael Bamberger on the series of events that led to the Tiger Woods rules snafu on the 15th hole in the second round of the Masters last month. Turns out the “television viewer” that called Fred Ridley, the tournament’s competition committee chairman — and ultimately saved Woods’ from disqualification for taking an improper drop — was Champions Tour player David Eger, according to Bamberger:

7 Comments
Continue Reading

May
25
2012
By Stephanie Wei under European PGA Tour

The scene of the incident

Graeme McDowell’s opening round at the European PGA Championship ended on a sour note with a triple-bogey 8 to post a two-over 74. He incurred a two-shot penalty on the 18th hole at Wentworth because of a “freak” rules violation and a slight brain fart by the golfer. After an errant tee shot into the bushes, McDowell tried to take a look at his ball, which was entangled in some branches, and as he approached, he thought it may have oscillated a dimple or two.

He went ahead and punched out, and then as he walked down the fairway, he called over a rules official and asked him to take a look at the TV footage because he wasn’t sure if it had moved — even though he couldn’t have necessarily prevented it and didn’t gain an advantageous lie. Point of the rule is to protect the field from a player improving his/her lie, but there’s that gray area where intention should come into play as it does in several other rules.

14 Comments
Continue Reading

May
10
2012

Kickin' it: Harman and caddy linger with intent.

That strange, anonymous blob you saw lurking at the base of the Players Championship digital leaderboard this morning should have carried the name of Sea Island native Brian Harman.

The left-hander gained late, late entry to the field as first alternate, taking the place of last week’s forgotten man, D.A. Points, but his transition from practice ground mainstay to competitor would prove circuitous, to say the least.

4 Comments
Continue Reading