Tag Archives: Rule 4-1a

Aug
17
2013
Bad luck Charlie

Bad luck Charlie

Prior to the start of the third round of the Wyndham Championship, Charles Howell III was disqualified for unintentionally violating Rule 4-1a for using a non-conforming driver. Howell’s club became illegal when the “toe cap” — weighing less than a gram — fell off during his warm-up before the second round.

In a game of what sounds like telephone, a PGA Tour rules official was informed of the breach by USGA staff member, according to Golfweek’s Adam Schupak

6 Comments
Continue Reading