Tag Archives: Rule 33-7

May
1
2013
The Drop

The Drop

The USGA and R&A issued a statement on Wednesday explaining the ruling that saved Tiger Woods from disqualification at the Masters for taking an illegal drop. Basically, the governing bodies clarified that it will not serve as a precedent for waiving the penalty (disqualification) for signing an incorrect scorecard (see below under “Scope of Committee Discretion to Waive a Penalty of Disqualification for Failure to Return Correct Score”).

Pros (and amateur competitors) must still make sure they return an accurate score, so you can’t pull a “Tiger” — who was extended a lifeline because Fred Ridley, Masters tournament competition committee chairman, made an “erroneous” application of the rule. I know, darn it!

Here is the statement in full:

11 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
20
2013
Stevie Williams celebrating his 14th major

Stevie Williams celebrating his 14th major

Tiger Woods’ former caddie Stevie Williams chimed in on Tiger’s improper drop controversy in the second round of the Masters, which resulted in a two-shot penalty. New Zealand’s 3News caught up with Williams, who is now Adam Scott’s looper, after he landed from the long journey back from Augusta.

Stevie just can’t help himself.

4 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
13
2013
By Stephanie Wei under The Masters
Tiger drops

The drop that shook the world

Who said golf was boring?!? My roommate Carson Griffith, a freelance journalist who until February was the senior gossip columnist for the New York Daily News, has learned so much about the game and The Masters since Thursday, particularly in the last 24 hours.

When I asked for a free association, she said: “Crazy pants, Aussie accents, 14-year-old wunderkind, slow play penalties, and just as much Tiger Woods controversy as I got on the tabloid covers.”

Sums it up! And clearly, *tons* of drama. Yep, this is truly a Masters unlike any other. 

19 Comments
Continue Reading