Tag Archives: Rule 18-2b

May
11
2014
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Rose opines

Rose opines on the bizarre rules gaffe

Justin Rose found himself in the center of attention over an unprecedented rules incident this weekend at The Players Championship. Rose had resigned to accepting his fate — a two-shot penalty under Rule 18-2b for his ball moving ever so slightly behind the 18th green at TPC Sawgrass during the third round. Then, he arrived to the course on Sunday for his 12:35pm tee time and learned about 30 minutes prior that PGA Tour officials had decided to rescind the penalty. 

1 Comment
Continue Reading

May
11
2014
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Rose

Justin’s score readjusted

Apparently Justin Rose’s ball didn’t move quite enough on Moving Day to get penalized. Upon further review overnight, the two-shot penalty Rose received Saturday evening following the third round at The Players Championship was rescinded by the PGA Tour. 

2 Comments
Continue Reading

May
5
2012
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

Moore, a martyr for what most thought rule 18-2b change addressed

When Ryan Moore went to tap-in a 12-inch putt on the 11th green, he noticed the ball moved ever so slightly due to what was presumed as gravity or another outside force, but not because he had caused it. He had set his putter down on the ground, addressed the ball and taken his back stroke to where the putter face was about ten-inches behind the ball.

6 Comments
Continue Reading