Tag Archives: Rule 18-2

Jun
21
2016

The USGA released a statement Monday afternoon, saying it regretted the “distraction” caused by the organization’s decision to wait until the end of Dustin Johnson’s round to decide on the ruling regarding the potential infraction that occurred on the fifth green. As the USGA rules officials repeatedly stated afterwards (to the point of absurdity) in interviews and a press conference (which was more like a parody), the whole point was for the USGA to make the correct ruling.

Upon reviewing the video evidence (see below), the officials decided that it “more likely than not” (ugh, so 51%) that Dustin caused the ball to move because apparently the officials disregarded DJ’s word and claim he grounded his putter and shortly after the ball moved.

5 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
20
2016
By Stephanie Wei under US Open

It wouldn’t be a major championship with Dustin Johnson in contention if there weren’t some type of ridiculous drama involved — whether it was trying to chip left-handed and imploding in the final round to lose a three-shot lead (2010 U.S. Open at Pebble Beach), grounding his club on the 72nd hole in the controversial bunker-not-a-bunker debacle (2010 PGA Championship at Whistling Straits), hitting a 4-iron out-of-bounds coming down the stretch (2011 Open Championship at Royal St Georges), three-putting from 12 feet on the 72nd hole on “bumpy” greens to miss out on an 18-hole playoff against Jordan Spieth (2015 U.S. Open at Chambers Bay), and posting two scores over par after holding the 36-hole lead (2015 Open Championship at St Andrews).

15 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
23
2012

Gay's misstep keeps 18 more players afoot

Brian Gay incurred a one-stroke penalty on No. 17 at TPC River Highlands (his third hole on Saturday morning and 8th of his second round). While searching for his ball in the hazard he found it by accidentally stepping on it.

Gay and his caddie, Kip Henley, tried to appeal the ruling after the weather-delayed second round. Despite nearly an hour-a thirty-minute-long discussion with VP of Rules and Competition Mark Russell, along with Stephen Cox, the rules official who was on-site, the decision held up.

Had it been overturned, Gay would have carded a 7 rather than an 8 on the hole to post a 36-hole total one-under instead of even par and changed the cut to one-under at the Travelers Championship.

6 Comments
Continue Reading