Tag Archives: Rule 14-1


As expected, the USGA and the R&A proposed a new rule that would ban anchoring of the club, most applicably the putter, to the body when making a stroke on Wednesday morning in a joint teleconference (see below for video aired on Golf Channel).

While golf’s governing bodies call it a “proposal,” it’s pretty much been decided that the rule will be implemented — but of course, to cover their bases, there will be a 90-day thorough review, so the members of the USGA and R&A rules committees can hear every side to every argument possible (as if this hasn’t been discussed enough) before the next approval in Spring of 2013.

Continue Reading