Tag Archives: Robert Karlsson

Jan
27
2012
By Conor Nagle under European PGA Tour

Thørbjorn Olesen, obviously.

As expected, the 36-hole leader of the Abu Dhabi Championship is 22 years of age and the possessor of a world-beating long game. He doesn’t, however, go by the name of Rory McIlroy.

3 Comments
Continue Reading

Jan
26
2012
By Conor Nagle under European PGA Tour

Picture perfect: Karlsson had seven birdies on Thurdsday.

Abu Dhabi Golf Club has evolved into a golfing test every bit as imposing as its monumental clubhouse (I hear it doubles as the lair of a supervillain hell-bent, naturally, on world domination). A par-72 that clocks in at a frankly ridiculous 7,600 yards, it’s a layout that places its emphasis firmly on powerful, straight hitting.

Unsurprising, then, that the upper echelons of the first round leaderboard should be dominated – and dominated thoroughly – by class ball-strikers.

2 Comments
Continue Reading

Jan
18
2012

Harrington and Els ponder the meaning of Life.

The European Tour’s 2012 schedule begins in earnest this week with the Volvo Golf Champions at Fancourt, something of a poor man’s Tournament of Champions (didn’t think that was possible, did you?).

With eligibility limited to recent European Tour winners and those who have amassed more than 10 victories in their career, the 35-man field is an unusual blend of established stars and young pretenders.

3 Comments
Continue Reading

Dec
11
2011
By Conor Nagle under European PGA Tour

Quiros in action during the final round.

Alvaro Quiros arrived at the final hole of the Dubai World Championship– a sinuous, uphill par-5– with a one-shot advantage over Paul Lawrie and two over World Number One Luke Donald.

8 Comments
Continue Reading

Dec
7
2011
By Conor Nagle under European PGA Tour

So Swedish: Robert Karlsson in action.

If you’re looking for a succinct evaluation of the set-up at this week’s Dubai World Championship, who better to turn to than businesslike 2010 champion Robert Karlsson?

Such was the reasoning of Reuters’ man-about-course Tony Jimenez this evening, who managed to extract some precious quotage from the Swede ahead of tomorrow’s opening round.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Aug
16
2011
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Championship

The daunting 18th hole, also dubbed "worst hole in golf" by some of the players, but Keegan and the Duff conquered it. Meanwhile, the rest of the field will have to seek therapy to recover from the mental trauma and nightmares!

My customary post-major (and WGC) hangover is kicking in right on schedule! Good news is those thrilling contrived PLAYOFFS start next week. Oh, can you feel the magic of the obscene $10 million prize to the winner?? Almost, right? Bad news is the Masters isn’t for another seven- to-eight months!

Well, I’ve found the best way to get over withdrawals is to take a look back through pictures and some closing words. Here we go!

14 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
13
2011

Lucky 355?

The final round of the FedEx St. Jude Classic evolved into a golfing duel between two very different personalities, but as pronounced as the contrast between Harrison Frazar (not ‘Frasier’!), a Tour veteran of 13 years, and Robert Karlsson, one of the European Tour’s leading lights, was at times, both spent the day managing the same, bowel-tightening pressure that anticipates a first PGA Tour victory.

1 Comment
Continue Reading

Feb
9
2011

Saltman: Man of controversy!

While you’re all probably aware of the Elliot Saltman case, which is still ongoing, and my views on the issue, it’s worth returning to it for a few minutes, if only to watch Sky Sports News’ SPECIAL REPORT(!) on the subject: Rough Justice (see what they did there?).

3 Comments
Continue Reading

Nov
29
2010

Ian Poulter's blunder cost him the tournament and almost $600,000

In a year plagued by strange rules infractions, it’s almost fitting that Ian Poulter capped off the year with another one at the Dubai World Championship. On the second playoff hole against Robert Karlsson, Poulter was bending over to replace his ball when he dropped it, causing it to fall and move his “lucky” marker. He was assessed a one-stroke penalty and instead of putting for birdie to force another extra hole, he was going for par and he missed the 40-footer.

10 Comments
Continue Reading