Tag Archives: Mark Russell

May
11
2014
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Rose opines

Rose opines on the bizarre rules gaffe

Justin Rose found himself in the center of attention over an unprecedented rules incident this weekend at The Players Championship. Rose had resigned to accepting his fate — a two-shot penalty under Rule 18-2b for his ball moving ever so slightly behind the 18th green at TPC Sawgrass during the third round. Then, he arrived to the course on Sunday for his 12:35pm tee time and learned about 30 minutes prior that PGA Tour officials had decided to rescind the penalty. 

1 Comment
Continue Reading

May
11
2014
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Rose

Justin’s score readjusted

Apparently Justin Rose’s ball didn’t move quite enough on Moving Day to get penalized. Upon further review overnight, the two-shot penalty Rose received Saturday evening following the third round at The Players Championship was rescinded by the PGA Tour. 

2 Comments
Continue Reading

Mar
22
2014
Na, Na, Na, Na

Na, Na, Na, Na

For the second week in a row on the PGA Tour, Kevin Na was (unfairly) targeted and harassed by fans for his reputation of being a slow player.

During the second round of the Arnold Palmer Invitational, spectators heckled Na, who teed off no. 10 on Friday, throughout the back nine at Bay Hill. Na was visibly frustrated and reacted to the taunting. Things finally hit a breaking point, and in the middle of the first fairway, he flagged down rules official Mark Russell.

16 Comments
Continue Reading

May
26
2013
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
D'oh!

D’oh!

Jeff Overton was disqualified in the third round at Colonial Invitational for using a putting aid on the practice green in between nines. With threesomes teeing off nos. 1 and 10 after the weather-suspended second round was finished Saturday morning, there was a backup on the 10th tee.

A PGA Tour rules official told Overton he could practice putting and chipping while he waited, but the official didn’t remind Overton that he couldn’t use a training aid. Overton, who was even par on the front nine, was informed of the DQ on the 11th hole.

4 Comments
Continue Reading

May
1
2013
The most famous improper drop in history

The most famous improper drop in history

Fantastic reporting by SI’s Michael Bamberger on the series of events that led to the Tiger Woods rules snafu on the 15th hole in the second round of the Masters last month. Turns out the “television viewer” that called Fred Ridley, the tournament’s competition committee chairman — and ultimately saved Woods’ from disqualification for taking an improper drop — was Champions Tour player David Eger, according to Bamberger:

7 Comments
Continue Reading

Mar
24
2013
20130324-172737.jpg

Here comes the storm…

After Tiger Woods birdied No. 2 at Bay Hill to get to 12-under and take a three-shot lead over Rickie Fowler, Keegan Bradley, Ken Duke and John Huh, the horn sounded at 2:03pm on Sunday, signaling that play had been suspended.

Woods’ quest to regain his rightful position atop the rankings was delayed by monstrous thunderstorms. There was a tornado warning — and I’m pretty sure that was my first experience in a mini-tornado, which was pretty much just as frightening as I envisioned — followed by gusts up to 52mph and heavy rain showers. 

9 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
30
2012

A fierce storm tore through the DC area and hit Congressional hard on Friday night

The maintenance workers and clean-up crew at Congressional Country Club deserve a huge round of applause for preparing the storm-ravaged golf course in time for golfers to complete Saturday’s third round.

Just after 10pm on Friday evening, a fierce thunderstorm called a “Derecho,” which originated in the Chicago area, wreaked havoc in the nation’s capital. The storm goes at least 250 miles with winds at least 58 miles per hour or greater. In the Bethesda, Maryland, area, gusts reached 80mph.

1 Comment
Continue Reading

Jun
23
2012

Gay's misstep keeps 18 more players afoot

Brian Gay incurred a one-stroke penalty on No. 17 at TPC River Highlands (his third hole on Saturday morning and 8th of his second round). While searching for his ball in the hazard he found it by accidentally stepping on it.

Gay and his caddie, Kip Henley, tried to appeal the ruling after the weather-delayed second round. Despite nearly an hour-a thirty-minute-long discussion with VP of Rules and Competition Mark Russell, along with Stephen Cox, the rules official who was on-site, the decision held up.

Had it been overturned, Gay would have carded a 7 rather than an 8 on the hole to post a 36-hole total one-under instead of even par and changed the cut to one-under at the Travelers Championship.

6 Comments
Continue Reading

May
4
2012

Free drop

I don’t even know where to begin and I know I am relatively new on the golf beat (second full season, third year), but the curious case of Tiger Woods’ “lost” or “stolen” ball on the 5th hole in the second round of the Wells Fargo Championship was the weirdest thing I’ve seen out here by far. The entire day was unusual, but it’s not often a player’s ball disappears into thin air, especially when it’ has “TW” and a Nike logo branded on it and hundreds of spectators in the vicinity.

53 Comments
Continue Reading