Tag Archives: Lexi Thompson

Jul
9
2017

Jon Rahm added to his growing legend with his runaway six-shot victory at the Irish Open at Portstewart GC. The 22-year-old Spaniard fired an impressive seven-under 65 in the final round — and he even missed a three-footer on the 72nd hole — to post 24-under for the championship, breaking the tournament scoring record by three strokes.

Rahm started the final round tied for the lead with American Daniel Im, both of whom posted 54-hole totals of 17-under. But Rahm quickly took control on the front nine, beginning with a hole-out eagle from the fairway on the par-5 4th hole to take the outright lead by two.

Continue Reading

Apr
26
2017

Lexi Thompson spoke with the media for the first time since her heartbreaking loss 24 days ago at the ANA Inspiration after incurring a four-stroke penalty that ultimately cost her the trophy at the LPGA’s opening major of the year. Ahead of this week’s Volunteers of America Texas Shootout, the 22-year-old American held an emotional press conference Wednesday afternoon and broke down in tears at one point as she started to answer a question about the controversial rules infraction that a “concerned” viewer spotted on the telecast from the previous day’s round and brought it to the attention of an LPGA rules official via email during Sunday’s final round.

Continue Reading

Apr
25
2017

When reports popped up Monday about the USGA and R&A making a big announcement about a rules change after the massive backlash resulting from Lexi Thompson’s unfortunate four-stroke penalty in the final round of the ANA Inspiration that ultimately cost her the major title.

Naturally, Golf Twitter responded in real time with utter outrage and disbelief, and then, of course, a flood of articles and columns dissecting the incident, Rules of Golf, TV vigilantism, etc. followed for days, which is the norm after such a controversial incident, but this was a special scenario because the women’s first major occurs the week right before the Masters. And usually, once Monday rolls around — the official start of Masters week — any coverage of the ladies’ major gets buried and forgotten because all eyes turn toward Augusta National.

Continue Reading

Apr
4
2017

Whoa, whoa, whoa. Hold up! That’s going too far, I think, as much as I feel for Lexi Thompson and believe she was robbed of a major. It could also set a dangerous precedent and open way too many doors that would not turn out to be beneficial to anyone. To clarify, Phil Mickelson’s quote in the headline is referring to reversing the result of the tournament and taking the ANA Inspiration trophy away from So Yeon Ryu and giving it to Lexi.

However, I agree with his general comments about the rule and the situation. I mean, holy crap, it’s Tuesday of Masters week and the Lexi rules controversy story is still making headlines! As I said yesterday, it’s great we’re talking about women’s golf (kind of), but it’s for the wrong reasons and it’s more of a general problem in golf and it’s not exactly a good look for the game.

Continue Reading

Apr
3
2017

Leave it to yet a(nother) incredulous and absurd rules controversy to cloud the discussion and news coming out of Augusta National on Monday of arguably the biggest week in golf. In a regard, I’m glad the ANA Inspiration, one of the five majors in the women’s game, is actually getting attention, and the stories aren’t lost in the usually overwhelming joy and coverage of Masters previews as they have in years past.

Unfortunately, the spotlight isn’t on celebrating a great champion, but it’s golf’s latest rules debacle, which isn’t exactly the most flattering look for a niche sport that seems obsessed with the never-ending discussing on “growing the game.” Well, letting absurd rules incident play out dramatically on live television isn’t doing golf any favors.

Continue Reading

Apr
3
2017

The golf world reacted via social media with outrage and harsh words Sunday evening during the final round of the ANA Inspiration, the first women’s major of the year. This is yet another incident of golf getting in its own way and looking stupid and lame to casual sports fans who already have that impression of the game.

Walking off the 12th green with the lead, Lexi Thompson was informed she was receiving a four-shot penalty for infractions from the third round. A TV viewer notified the LPGA via email that Thompson had marked her ball and improperly replaced it before tapping-in a one-footer on the 17th hole a day earlier. She received two strokes for the incorrect ball placement and then another two shots for signing an incorrect scorecard — the whole situation was absurd, but the latter was more flagrant since she didn’t know at the time.

Despite Lexi’s impressive ability to fight back and respond with back-to-back birdies after receiving the devastating news, she eventually lost in an one-hole playoff to So Yeon Ryu. In other words, this retroactive, unbelievably delayed infraction late in the final round of a major championship cost Thompson the major title.

Continue Reading

Jun
11
2015

Three-under was a very popular score amongst the morning wave that teed off in the first round of the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Westchester Country Club. At one point, there were 14 players tied at -3, but it appears scoring conditions have improved for the afternoon wave and there are several players that have gotten to four- or five-under.

I had the chance to catch up with a few of the ladies who played in the morning. First, I chatted with Christina Kim, who shot a two-under 71, which included a long birdie putt on the 18th from off the green — and a kickass celebration with plenty of fist pumps.

Continue Reading

Jun
9
2015

Welcome to a major week on the LPGA! — the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, formerly known as the LPGA Championship, is taking place at Westchester Country Club.

Last May, the LPGA, KPMG and the PGA of America announced they were collaborating to create a multi-faceted program focused on the development, advancement, and empowerment of women on and off the golf course. The event was given a new identity — and not per se replacing the LPGA Championship, rather “elevating” it.

Continue Reading

Jul
6
2014

Some of you have asked where you could watch my TV work. Well, the answer to that is Fox Sports International in 30 countries across Asia! But, obviously, most of you guys are not from that area and can’t access that channel.

I’ve picked just a few features and several of my favorite interviews with the men and women from the U.S. Opens at Pinehurst to post on my YouTube page. Enjoy!

First, here’s a preview piece to the first week on the challenges the players would face on unique Donald Ross course that was restored by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw.

Continue Reading