Tag Archives: Juli Inkster

Sep
21
2015
By Stephanie Wei under Solheim Cup

A day after standing her ground and insisting she would do the same thing again in the Solheim Cup controversy in one of the remaining four-ball matches on Sunday morning — a call that many deemed as unsportsmanlike — Suzann Pettersen posted a heartfelt apology to her Instagram.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Sep
20
2015

Fueled by a controversial call — which many deemed unsportsmanlike — in one of the remaining four-ball matches Sunday morning, Team USA won nine of the 12 singles matches and overcame the largest deficit (four points) in Solheim Cup history and defeated Team Europe 14.5-13.5 at St. Leon-Rot Golf Club in Germany.

Let’s first take a look at the drama that occurred on the 17th hole in the four-ball match between Suzann Pettersen and Charley Hull vs. Alison Lee and Brittany Lincicome. The match was all square with two holes to play. Lee stepped up to a 12-footer for birdie to win the hole and just barely missed. She picked up the ball from a foot and a half, thinking she had heard it was conceded.

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Sep
25
2011

Heart, sweat and tears

Karen Stupples won the 12th match on Sunday to give the Europeans a one-point advantage 9-8 over the Americans. And she didn’t even have to hit a shot. Her slated opponent American Cristie Kerr was forced to withdraw due to a wrist injury and forfeited the match:

9 Comments
Continue Reading

Aug
22
2011

And here's the complete U.S. team

Christina Kim clinched the final and 10th points spot on the US Solheim Cup team on Sunday and captain Rosie Jones selected Vicky Hurst and Ryann O’Toole as the two wildcard picks to round out the squad that will compete against the Europeans in Ireland next month.

18 Comments
Continue Reading

Aug
23
2010
By Stephanie Wei under LPGA

The good news is that there’s someone watching the LPGA who cares enough to email the tournament about catching Juli Inkster put a weighted donut on her club to help her warm up after a 30-minute back-up on the 10th tee. The bad news is — pretty obvious — that Inkster was disqualified from the Safeway Classic. She was also playing well and only three strokes behind leader and eventual champion Ai Miyazato going into the final round.

Inkster issued a brief statement: “I had a 30-minute wait and I needed to loosen up,” she said. “It had no effect on my game whatsoever, but it is what it is. I’m very disappointed.”

No doubt Inkster, a 50-year-old veteran and member of the LPGA Hall of Fame, should have known the rule — a seemingly dumb one, but (correct me if I’m wrong) I believe that applies to using a laser range finder in a tournament, which I don’t think should be allowed.

37 Comments
Continue Reading