Jeff Overton was disqualified in the third round at Colonial Invitational for using a putting aid on the practice green in between nines. With threesomes teeing off nos. 1 and 10 after the weather-suspended second round was finished Saturday morning, there was a backup on the 10th tee.
A PGA Tour rules official told Overton he could practice putting and chipping while he waited, but the official didn’t remind Overton that he couldn’t use a training aid. Overton, who was even par on the front nine, was informed of the DQ on the 11th hole.