Tag Archives: Improper drops

May
13
2013

At the risk of getting killed on the Internet and called a “Tiger hater,” I’m posting this because IT’S MY JOB, SO LEAVE ME THE EFF ALONE!

Besides, I’m a little late to the game because I didn’t think Tiger Woods’ drop on 14 was going to turn into Drop-gate, part deux. I know, silly me! I should know better. After all, Tiger farting is a big deal!

The way I see it is his playing partner told him the ball crossed farther up, so he was good, BUT at the same time, it’s up to the player to make the right call, as well. Basically, for rules nazis, Casey Wittenberg’s and Tiger’s words aren’t good enough for you. (Yes, I realize Tiger couldn’t know where it crossed because he looked away in disgust after he made contact.)

29 Comments
Continue Reading

Apr
13
2013

 

Tiger Woods reacts after his approach from the fairway on the 15th hits the pin and rolls back into the water hazard. Ouch.

Tiger Woods reacts after his approach from the fairway on the 15th hits the pin and rolls back into the water hazard. Ouch.

 *Update: Read the *update at the bottom of the post.

During the second round of The Masters, Tiger Woods, who is in contention heading into the weekend at Augusta National, caught an unfortunate break on the 15th hole when his approach into the green hit the pin, causing it to roll back into the water hazard. Brutal.

Turns out Woods’ troubles didn’t end there: He may have taken a bad drop. Masters officials are expected to review the incident Saturday morning, and IF it is ruled that Woods did indeed take a drop from the wrong spot, then he could be disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard. 

20 Comments
Continue Reading