Tag Archives: Andres Gonzales

Aug
30
2017

Embed from Getty Images

PGA Tour pro Andres Gonzales is one of my oldest and dearest friends. I met Andres and Michael Putnam on the same day at the same time because we shared the same swing coach (Joe Thiel) when we were junior golfers.

Andres and I practiced and played a lot together, and he often caddied for me at qualifiers for USGA events, among other tournaments. In fact, having him on my bag was a huge reason why I managed to qualify for the 2000 U.S. Jr. Girls and the 2001 U.S. Women’s Amateur. I mean, he practically hit the shots and stroked the putts. Okay, not really, but I couldn’t (still can’t) read greens to save my life, which he reminds me practically every time we talk.

We reminisced and took a walk down memory lane with funny and random stories from our youth on and off the golf course — mostly about Andres embarrassing me when I used to be super shy. Like when he pulled this stunt:

Leave a Comment
Continue Reading

Jan
13
2012
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

DeLaet: Back from surgery

 

Near the end of his rookie season in 2010, 29-year-old Canadian Graham DeLaet was suffering from an agonizing back injury — originally endured while playing hockey as a teenager — that was so painful he couldn’t even sit upright for more than ten seconds.

After exhausting other forms of treatment, DeLaet had surgery on January 3, 2011, which involved shaving off a piece of a herniated disk to alleviate a pinched nerve. Almost immediately, the procedure relieved much of his discomfort, but left him wondering if he’d make a full recovery and play golf again.

4 Comments
Continue Reading

Jul
23
2011
By Stephanie Wei under Humor

Full amazing

The other half of “half man, half amazing” showed up at Shaughnessy during the second round of the Canadian Open.

I must hand it to Chuck Hazzard,* who wins best costume of the year (at least that I’ve seen, but I might be a little biased). Chuck traveled all the way from Las Vegas to cheer on Andres Gonzales.

10 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
17
2011
By Stephanie Wei under US Open

Miguel's Welt Live Before Round 1 at the US Open

What in the world is that picture above? That’s what happens when Jason Dufner’s drive pegs your knee on the fly during a practice round at Congressional. Charley Hoffman’s caddie Miguel Rivera was forecaddying and apparently he didn’t notice Dufner’s ball coming right at him and no one yelled, “Fore!” Perhaps you read Andres Gonzales’ first-hand account of the incident:

8 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
16
2011
By Stephanie Wei under US Open

Cool Hand Luuuuuke

The US Open at Congressional kicks off today bright and early. Finally, right? I do love the practice days because I get the most reporting done, but it also means longer hours, longer days and not enough sleep. So excuse me if I’ve been a bit delirious. If I haven’t already mentioned, as of yesterday, I’m primarily blogging/reporting for the Wall Street Journal’s Daily Fix.

For your convenience, I’ll repost the links and perhaps a few excerpts that will direct you to the full story.

1 Comment
Continue Reading

Jun
14
2011

How about that clubhouse?? (View from 10 green)

Hello from Congressional! I can’t believe it’s been a year since Pebble Beach (and my first major). I feel so grown up! — actually, not really, but I can’t even begin to describe how much I’ve learned since then (you know, like, don’t accidentally wander into the Player’s Lounge looking for the ladies’ room…). Anyway, since I kicked off the day at Ken Venturi’s presser, it was going to be a hard act to beat. Oh, by the way, as I walked into the interview room, I spotted this sign (bottom left), which made me chuckle.

11 Comments
Continue Reading

Jun
12
2011

Team Washington!

While Michael Putnam and Andres Gonzales compete against each other, they also root for the other to play well. At PGA Tour Q-School, I went to watch Mike play the last few holes and he asked me how Andres finished. When I told him it looked like Andres was in the top-25, a big smile appeared on Mike’s face and he was nearly giddy. I wasn’t at the US Open Sectional qualifier in Tunica, MS, but his reaction was probably similar.

15 Comments
Continue Reading

May
27
2011

Many of you (readers) questioned the ruling that official Jon Brendle doled to Andres Gonzales on the ninth hole during the first round at the Byron Nelson Championship. And to be honest, initially, I was confused why he wasn’t under penalty since he grounded the club and then the ball moved. But after speaking with Brendle and Andres, I have a clearer understanding of the circumstances.

Dres hadn’t settled his feet or addressed the ball yet. If you watch the video closely, you’ll see that he never puts the club down directly behind that ball to address it. He placed the club to the back, left of the ball.

“I never ground my club close to the ball,” said Dres via a phone call. “I always ground it at least three inches behind it. I was getting ready to get set up, but I hadn’t addressed it.”

He was surprised he wasn’t under penalty because the ball moved after he grounded the club, and before the ruling, he had already mentally added a shot to his score.

When Brendle, a longtime, highly-respected PGA Tour rules official, arrived to the scene, he asked Dres to show him what he had done. Brendle felt he had put it too far behind the ball to have caused it to move. Since the “lift, clean and place” rule was in effect, Brendle asked Dres if he had already done that, which he had. Dres had placed the ball on a tuft of grass.

“That told me it’d fallen off of (the tuft of grass),” Brendle said on the phone. “There was just no doubt in my mind. Because of where he had put the club, he didn’t cause the ball to move…When he showed me what he did, he was too far behind the ball and left. He wasn’t really taking his stance. He put the club way behind (the ball). It wasn’t really out where you play from.”

Brendle said had he put the club down directly behind the ball, it would have been a penalty and Andres would have had to move the ball back to its original position. The other officials were split on the decision, but Brendle made the call. He acknowledged it was an unusual situation. In fact, it was the first time he hadn’t thought a player was under penalty due to the circumstances.

Andres, who missed the cut, was relieved it wasn’t a penalty, but he felt “weird” initially.

“It almost felt like I was cheating because I grounded my club and the ball moved, but the official said I wasn’t under penalty,” said Andres. “Obviously I was glad it wasn’t. So were my playing partners. No one wants anyone to get a penalty.”

Rule 18-2b is the same rule that the USGA is in the process of changing after the controversy that ensued due to several players receiving penalties which may have impacted the result of tournaments — namely Webb Simpson at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans. For that reason, Andres felt slightly uncomfortable about the situation.

“Since they’re in the middle of changing the rule (18-2) and that was the first time it happened on camera, the whole thing was weird,” he said. “I don’t know, I was given a different ruling than I expected.”

Brendle explained the difference between what happened with Simpson and Andres. “Webb was going into his shot,” he said. “Andres was not really going into his shot. He had pulled the club away and he was looking at his ball.

“That’s the first time I’ve thought a guy wasn’t under penalty. Normally, they are.”

Brendle offered another interesting ruling anecdote. Right after he dealt with Andres, he was called over by Charles Warren, who had a question. Under the “lift, clean and place” rule, the players are given a club length to place the ball from the original position, no closer to the hole.

Warren’s ball was within a club length of a sprinkler head. He asked Brendle if he could place the ball on the sprinkler and then take relief from there. The answer was yes. What’s more, after the drop, Warren’s ball was once again in a new position and he was allowed to lift, clean and place it another club length.

“He ended up moving it three club lengths and changing the shot completely under the rules,” said Brendle.

Knowing the rules usually works to your advantage! And no, Warren’s actions didn’t violate the spirit of the game, in my humble opinion.

May
27
2011

The video above is definitely worth a watch — not just because it involves legendary rookie Andres Gonzales and famed official Jon Brendle, but because the audio is so clear, it gives us a closer look at how Tour rules officials handle rulings and serves as another example of a player calling a penalty on himself.

Dres, who is one of the greatest characters on the PGA Tour, along with having the most creative facial hair (random cool fact: he’s growing out his hair to donate to Locks for Love), tried to call a penalty on himself during the first round of the Byron Nelson Championship. Dres was setting up for his approach shot on No. 9. and put his club down on the ground (not directly behind it, more in back of it — pause the video in the first few seconds to see), but then he suddenly backed off because he believed he had caused the ball to move, which meant he had incurred a one-shot penalty.

18 Comments
Continue Reading

Feb
25
2011

Andres: Sorry, amigos, I'm a gringo

Don’t let the name or the mustache confuse you — Andres Gonzales, who shot five-under in the first round of the Mayakoba Golf Classic in Playa del Carmen, Mexico (yeah, there’s another PGA Tour event happening this week), can’t speak Spanish and isn’t a local — he’s one-sixteenth Mexican if that counts for anything.

“There were a bunch of Mexican people who thought I was Mexican speaking Spanish to me in the interview room,” Dres told me on the phone Thursday evening. “They gave me a translator. I felt like one of the Asian golfers on the women’s tour.  I’ve never felt more like a gringo in my entire life.”

13 Comments
Continue Reading