Sep
25
2011
Your Belated Solheim Cup Singles Open Thread: “She Beats It” (VIDEO)
By Stephanie Wei under Solheim Cup

Heart, sweat and tears

Karen Stupples won the 12th match on Sunday to give the Europeans a one-point advantage 9-8 over the Americans. And she didn’t even have to hit a shot. Her slated opponent American Cristie Kerr was forced to withdraw due to a wrist injury and forfeited the match:

“I’m devastated that I can’t play and help my team,” said Kerr after walking off the practice range in tears. “I tried my best but I couldn’t hold the golf club.”

Kerr, who was suffering from severe tendinitis in her right wrist, had been due to play Stupples in the final match of the 12 singles at Killeen.

The teams began the day at 8-all, with the United States needing six points to retain the Cup and Europe requiring 6-1/2 to regain it for the first time since 2003.

The 33-year-old Kerr tried to warm up but had to withdraw. Under the rules, she forfeited the point.

Stupples sympathised with her opponent. “I’m gutted for her and gutted for me. I was ready to play and I think we would have had a fantastic game.”

U.S. captain Rosie Jones said the team had been concerned about Kerr on Friday morning, although she played in the foursomes and fourballs on the first two days.

“She started on anti-inflammatory on Friday night and felt better,” said Jones. “The wrist is just due to fatigue and it is too painful.”

*Bad news for the American squad — captain Rosie Jones put Kerr in the anchor position for a reason, but sounds like Kerr wanted to play and said she could, which is why she played all four matches prior to Sunday. Apparently Kerr, who started feeling the pain Thursday, didn’t inform Jones until after the opening ceremony.

*Lot of noise from the peanut gallery arguing that Kerr shouldn’t have lost a full point. Uh, why not? You forfeit, you lose the point. What if someone is kinda injured, but could possibly play and decides to concede the match because she still receives half a point while she probably would have lost?

*In case you’ve missed the first two days of action at Killeen Castle, here’s my roundup from yesterday summing up the action.

*More bad news — the seemingly invincible Paula Creamer, who held the best winning percentage in U.S. team history going into the week, got whupped by Catriona Matthew 6&5 in the first match. It was Creamer’s first career loss in singles.

*Now good news! — Morgan Pressel went 2-down to Anna Nordqvist early in the match, but rallied and just closed out Nordqvist 2&1 to put another point for the Americans. Kerr, with her right arm in a sling, was there to congratulate Pressel.

*The Europeans held the early advantage, but the Americans are fighting back. #heart

*Case of the yips for Juli Inkster, missing consecutive two-footers on 14 and 15 to go 1-down to Laura Davies. I love Davies — the way she plays, her candor and she’s just a legend, which makes it almost hard to cheer against her, but not that hard. She found some trouble on 16, hitting an errant drive, but made a nice recovery and almost reached the green. Meanwhile, Inkster had a bad lie, but caught the ball clean and knocked it to roughly 15 feet pin-high. For a moment, her ball flirted with the water hazard on the right side, but rolled up safely. Golf Channel’s Kay Cockerill called it, “What a play! — that was a combination of well executed & a bit of luck.” Took the words outta my mouth!

*In a Davies segment on Golf Channel, she said she gets away with driving fast in fast cars because cops recognize her and let her off. “Luckily a lot of police officers are golfers and they read you the Rights Act and then say, ‘Laura, we’ll let you off this time. Play well next week.’ And it’s brilliant, so I get away with it,” said Davies, with a sly smile.

*Brittany Lang handed Sandra Gal her booty 6&5.

*Christina Kim is 4-up over Maria Hjorth thru 14. Take that, haters! Go, Tina!

*Michelle Wie, who has only contributed one point so far this week, just squared up her match against the intimidating Suzann Pettersen, winning the 13th hole with a bogey.

*Play has been suspended for the second time today. Earlier, it was due to heavy rain. This time, there’s lightning in the area, which doesn’t happen often in Ireland. Here’s the latest status of the matches:

*Golf Channel says Jerry Foltz is reporting it might be an hour-and-one-half delay.

*And who beats it? Well, Suzann Pettersen, Brittany Lincicome, Michelle Wie, Maria Hjorth, Ryann O’Toole, among others. But so does Tiff Joh, who also rocks.

*Drop your thoughts and comments below! USA, USA, USA!

(AP Photo/Peter Morrison)