Tag Archives: Rules of Golf

May
11
2014
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Rose opines

Rose opines on the bizarre rules gaffe

Justin Rose found himself in the center of attention over an unprecedented rules incident this weekend at The Players Championship. Rose had resigned to accepting his fate — a two-shot penalty under Rule 18-2b for his ball moving ever so slightly behind the 18th green at TPC Sawgrass during the third round. Then, he arrived to the course on Sunday for his 12:35pm tee time and learned about 30 minutes prior that PGA Tour officials had decided to rescind the penalty. 

Continue Reading

May
11
2014
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Rose

Justin’s score readjusted

Apparently Justin Rose’s ball didn’t move quite enough on Moving Day to get penalized. Upon further review overnight, the two-shot penalty Rose received Saturday evening following the third round at The Players Championship was rescinded by the PGA Tour. 

Continue Reading

Dec
5
2013
By Stephanie Wei under European PGA Tour
Disciplinary action

Simon Dyson, report to the principal’s office

Simon Dyson was fined $49,000 and handed a two-month ban and suspended for 18 months after being found guilty of a serious breach of the European Tour’s code of behavior as a result of an incident at the BMW Masters in Shanghai in October.

Dyson met with a three-man disciplinary panel that convened at the Tour’s headquarters in Wentworth on Thursday to determine his fate due to a rules violation, where he tapped down a spike mark with his ball that was directly in the line of his short par putt. He was disqualified from the tournament for signing an incorrect scorecard because he failed to add a two-shot penalty for his infraction. 

Continue Reading

Nov
19
2013
WTH?

WTH?

On Tuesday the USGA and R&A announced 87 changes — three new Decisions, 59 revised Decisions, one re-numbered Decision and 24 Decisions withdrawn – to the Rules of Golf that will be effective January 1, 2014, but there were four significant ones, with the most notable involving the use of high-definition or slow-motion video and other visual evidence in enforcing the game’s rules.

Golf’s governing bodies may have been prompted to make this new decision as a result of several controversies during the 2013 season, particularly the Oscillate-gate incident with Tiger Woods receiving a two-shot penalty for his ball moving at the BMW Championship. 

Continue Reading

Oct
22
2013
By Stephanie Wei under Tiger Woods
F!

Chamblee with his grading pen on Woods: F!

Following Golf Channel analyst Brandel Chamblee’s controversial Golf.com column that implied Tiger Woods is a cheater (in golf), all hell broke loose in the golf world, including Woods’ agent Mark Steinberg alluding to the potential of Team Tiger taking legal action.

A week later, Chamblee, who has not appeared on television since the piece was published, has finally spoken to defend his comments, via an email to the Associated Press

Continue Reading

Sep
18
2013
By Stephanie Wei under FedEx Cup
Where Oscillate-Gate started...

Where Oscillate-Gate started…

Tiger Woods’ rules infraction last Friday at the BMW Championship remained the most-talked-about-two-shot penalty (since earlier this year at The Masters) on the eve of the Tour Championship. Woods remains adamant that his ball oscillated and didn’t move despite the obvious video evidence, and while this rules violation was caught by a “freelance videographer” for PGA Tour Entertainment, this incident has heightened the discussion about armchair rules officials calling in penalties.

Prior to his chat with the media, Woods met with PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem for about an hour, and though Tiger didn’t divulge many details about their conversation, it’s safe to assume that the main topic was the Tour’s policy on viewers calling in potential rules infractions. 

Continue Reading

Sep
16
2013

Here now, we have a screen grab from one of Geoff Shackelford’s readers of Tiger Woods and the incident during the second round that resulted in a two-stroke penalty (go here for the video footage). Here’s the ball before Woods started meddling with the loose impediments around it and after.

TigerBallMoveCloseups

 

Continue Reading

May
30
2013
The Masters champ has retained a lawyer but doesn't plan to sue

The Masters champ has retained a lawyer but doesn’t plan to sue

The PGA Tour Player Advisory Council (PAC) gathered for an official meeting on Tuesday at Muirfield Village Golf Club to discuss the USGA and R&A’s announcement of their final decision to ban anchored putting under Rule 14-1b. Players, Commissioner Tim Finchem and other officials participated in the 90-minute meeting in person and by phone.

Finchem discussed the series of events that had happened regarding the anchoring issue since their last meeting and then players and officials also weighed in with their opinions on the imminent decree set forth by golf’s governing bodies that will be put in effect on January 1, 2016.

“Yesterday’s (meeting) was just hearing guys on the PAC’s opinion,” said Aaron Baddeley, a member of the PAC, on Wednesday. “(The PAC meeting) was more just to see what Commissioner Finchem was thinking, and what Slugger White and a couple of the other rules guys were thinking.”

Continue Reading

May
27
2013
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Tim Clark

Tim Clark is thought to have led the anchorers against the ban on anchoring

Tim Clark, Carl Pettersson and seven other PGA Tour players have teamed up to take on golf’s governing bodies if the PGA Tour adopts the impending ban on anchored putters, which the USGA and R&A announced last week would be banned starting January 1, 2016. While several other major tours have come out to voice their support for golf’s governing bodies, the PGA Tour is waiting it out and if it decides to adopt — which it likely will — the rule, then nine Tour pros are ready to fight over the issue in court, according to SB Nation’s Emily Kay:

Continue Reading

May
26
2013
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
D'oh!

D’oh!

Jeff Overton was disqualified in the third round at Colonial Invitational for using a putting aid on the practice green in between nines. With threesomes teeing off nos. 1 and 10 after the weather-suspended second round was finished Saturday morning, there was a backup on the 10th tee.

A PGA Tour rules official told Overton he could practice putting and chipping while he waited, but the official didn’t remind Overton that he couldn’t use a training aid. Overton, who was even par on the front nine, was informed of the DQ on the 11th hole.

Continue Reading