Tag Archives: Rules controversy

Oct
31
2013
Oh, bloody hell

Oh, bloody hell

Under European Tour policy, Simon Dyson faces a disciplinary hearing over his disqualification for a rules infraction last week at the BMW Masters. Dyson, who was tied for second at the halfway mark, marked his ball on the eighth green and then briskly tapped down a spike mark that was in the line of his short par putt, violating Rule 16-1a.

Continue Reading

Oct
21
2013
Rory's backdoor 2nd! Woot!

Rory jumps up to 2nd!

Things appear to be looking up for Rory McIlroy. After starting the round ten shots out of contention on Sunday, McIlroy posted a final round four-under 67 to finish T2 (three-under total) at the Kolon Korea Open, where the world no. 6 headlined the fledgling field. However, he had a little bit — actually, quite a lot — of help from a fellow competitor.

McIlroy was near the top of the leaderboard the first two rounds, but blew up with a four-over 75, moving the wrong way on Saturday. Then, playing around six groups behind the ultimate twosome on Sunday, he bounced back to place strong. However, late in the day, a bizarre rules controversy involving the leaders Kim Hyung-tae and Kang Sung-hoon, detracted from the actual golf. 

Continue Reading

Jun
15
2013
By Conor Nagle under Rules

Never forget.

Without wanting to rekindle debate on the hot rules controversy of two months ago (Tiger + illegal drop = mediapocalypse),  it’s worth freezing a HD camera in the direction of this column by AP sportswriter Jim Litke.

Wandering Merion in search of an angle Thursday, he happened upon the USGA rules compound, where phone-in queries and accusations are becoming something of a nuisance.

Continue Reading

May
1
2013
The Drop

The Drop

The USGA and R&A issued a statement on Wednesday explaining the ruling that saved Tiger Woods from disqualification at the Masters for taking an illegal drop. Basically, the governing bodies clarified that it will not serve as a precedent for waiving the penalty (disqualification) for signing an incorrect scorecard (see below under “Scope of Committee Discretion to Waive a Penalty of Disqualification for Failure to Return Correct Score”).

Pros (and amateur competitors) must still make sure they return an accurate score, so you can’t pull a “Tiger” — who was extended a lifeline because Fred Ridley, Masters tournament competition committee chairman, made an “erroneous” application of the rule. I know, darn it!

Here is the statement in full:

Continue Reading

May
1
2013
The most famous improper drop in history

The most famous improper drop in history

Fantastic reporting by SI’s Michael Bamberger on the series of events that led to the Tiger Woods rules snafu on the 15th hole in the second round of the Masters last month. Turns out the “television viewer” that called Fred Ridley, the tournament’s competition committee chairman — and ultimately saved Woods’ from disqualification for taking an improper drop — was Champions Tour player David Eger, according to Bamberger:

Continue Reading

May
25
2012
By Stephanie Wei under European PGA Tour

The scene of the incident

Graeme McDowell’s opening round at the European PGA Championship ended on a sour note with a triple-bogey 8 to post a two-over 74. He incurred a two-shot penalty on the 18th hole at Wentworth because of a “freak” rules violation and a slight brain fart by the golfer. After an errant tee shot into the bushes, McDowell tried to take a look at his ball, which was entangled in some branches, and as he approached, he thought it may have oscillated a dimple or two.

He went ahead and punched out, and then as he walked down the fairway, he called over a rules official and asked him to take a look at the TV footage because he wasn’t sure if it had moved — even though he couldn’t have necessarily prevented it and didn’t gain an advantageous lie. Point of the rule is to protect the field from a player improving his/her lie, but there’s that gray area where intention should come into play as it does in several other rules.

Continue Reading

May
10
2012

Kickin' it: Harman and caddy linger with intent.

That strange, anonymous blob you saw lurking at the base of the Players Championship digital leaderboard this morning should have carried the name of Sea Island native Brian Harman.

The left-hander gained late, late entry to the field as first alternate, taking the place of last week’s forgotten man, D.A. Points, but his transition from practice ground mainstay to competitor would prove circuitous, to say the least.

Continue Reading

May
10
2012

Little lefty gets a shot

Well, it’s certainly been a strange, hectic morning at The Players Championship, and it actually didn’t directly have anything to do with Tiger Woods. Shocking, I know. In the end, it worked itself out.

Brian Harman, the first alternate, was granted a spot in the field and a 12:20pm tee time, after a sequence of strange events, where he should have replaced D.A. Points, who withdrew, in the 8:39am starting time on No. 1.

Continue Reading

Feb
7
2012
By Conor Nagle under PGA Tour

Tiger sizes up an old-fashioned putt at the 2010 US Open

Further to yesterday’s announcement of the USGA and R&A’s decision to reconsider the legality of putting techniques based on “anchoring” (ie. the bracing of the putter grip against the body), 14-time major champion Tiger Woods used his pre-tournament press conference at the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am to join the lobby in favour of an outright ban.

Continue Reading

Feb
7
2012

Keegan Bradley's USPGA victory accelerated growth of the trend.

Yesterday’s announcement that golf’s governing bodies, the USGA and R&A, are actively considering the implementation of a rule outlawing “anchoring” (ie. the bracing of the golf club against the body during the swing/putting stroke) will come as a relief to those alarmed by the sudden prevalence of belly putters, at both professional and amateur levels.

Continue Reading