Karen Stupples won the 12th match on Sunday to give the Europeans a one-point advantage 9-8 over the Americans. And she didn’t even have to hit a shot. Her slated opponent American Cristie Kerr was forced to withdraw due to a wrist injury and forfeited the match: (continue reading…)
Tag: Juli Inkster
Christina Kim clinched the final and 10th points spot on the US Solheim Cup team on Sunday and captain Rosie Jones selected Vicky Hurst and Ryann O’Toole as the two wildcard picks to round out the squad that will compete against the Europeans in Ireland next month. (continue reading…)
The good news is that there’s someone watching the LPGA who cares enough to email the tournament about catching Juli Inkster put a weighted donut on her club to help her warm up after a 30-minute back-up on the 10th tee. The bad news is — pretty obvious — that Inkster was disqualified from the Safeway Classic. She was also playing well and only three strokes behind leader and eventual champion Ai Miyazato going into the final round.
Inkster issued a brief statement: “I had a 30-minute wait and I needed to loosen up,” she said. “It had no effect on my game whatsoever, but it is what it is. I’m very disappointed.”
No doubt Inkster, a 50-year-old veteran and member of the LPGA Hall of Fame, should have known the rule — a seemingly dumb one, but (correct me if I’m wrong) I believe that applies to using a laser range finder in a tournament, which I don’t think should be allowed.