Tim Clark, Carl Pettersson and seven other PGA Tour players have teamed up to take on golf’s governing bodies if the PGA Tour adopts the impending ban on anchored putters, which the USGA and R&A announced last week would be banned starting January 1, 2016. While several other major tours have come out to voice their support for golf’s governing bodies, the PGA Tour is waiting it out and if it decides to adopt — which it likely will — the rule, then nine Tour pros are ready to fight over the issue in court, according to SB Nation’s Emily Kay: (continue reading…)
Tag: Belly Putters
As expected, the USGA and R&A availed of this morning’s conference call with journalists to confirm their amendment of rule 14-1b to prohibit the anchored putting stroke. The announcement brings to an end what the official statement describes as an “extensive review” of the issue, during which comments from various dissenting parties and interest groups — among them the PGA Tour and PGA of America — were considered at length.
Join us below the line for a breakdown of the rule change itself, plus quotes and reaction from the saga’s chief protagonists (except for Carl Petterson; he needs a few days to process things, apparently).
On the eve of the joint teleconference by the USGA and R&A on Wednesday morning from 8:30 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. (EST), it’s widely purported that golf’s governing bodies will announce that the decision has been made to ban “anchoring,” aka the putting method used with belly and broomstick putters. Which allegedly will not go into effect until 2016 (because the USGA reviews the Rules of Golf every four years, don’t ask me why).
The short of it via industry chatter and insiders: Anchoring against the fulcrum (body) will be illegal, but golfers will still be allowed to anchor the putter against the arm — a la Matt Kuchar. You can use a long putter as long as it isn’t propped or wedged against a part of the body. The actual wording of the rule will be interesting because of the gray area that comes up in this game and the potential lawsuits. (continue reading…)
Golfweek’s Alex Miceli, currently in China for the WGC-HSBC Champions, has filed an interesting report on the growing resistance among exponents of anchored putting techniques to the idea of an equipment ban.
Some tour players, sensing their livelihoods at risk, are apparently willing to consider legal action in the event of a rules change. (continue reading…)
Ernie Els’ Open Championship victory appears to have reinvigorated the debate surrounding the use of so-called “belly putters”.
Speaking in the wake of the South African’s victory at Royal Lytham, R&A chief executive Peter Dawson suggested the sport’s governing bodies were poised to take definitive action in the interest of resolving the long-running controversy. (continue reading…)
Further to yesterday’s announcement of the USGA and R&A’s decision to reconsider the legality of putting techniques based on “anchoring” (ie. the bracing of the putter grip against the body), 14-time major champion Tiger Woods used his pre-tournament press conference at the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am to join the lobby in favour of an outright ban. (continue reading…)
Yesterday’s announcement that golf’s governing bodies, the USGA and R&A, are actively considering the implementation of a rule outlawing “anchoring” (ie. the bracing of the golf club against the body during the swing/putting stroke) will come as a relief to those alarmed by the sudden prevalence of belly putters, at both professional and amateur levels. (continue reading…)
Winners at the last three PGA Tour events have used non-traditional putters, renewing the debate on whether or not the USGA and R&A should ban them. Last Sunday Webb Simpson earned his first victory using a belly putter. The week before, rookie Keegan Bradley won the PGA Championship while also wielding a belly, making him the first to capture a major with a long putter. And the week prior to that, Adam Scott used a broomstick putter anchored to his chest to win the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. (continue reading…)
When players are tactfully asked why they’ve blown a tournament or had so many close calls, they usually respond with something like, “I just have to keep putting myself in contention and giving myself a good shot to win — it’ll happen.” How cliche! Well, depending on your luck, it materializes sooner rather than later.
For Webb Simpson, it came true pretty quickly. (Maybe the golfing gods were looking out for him after they basically screwed him over in New Orleans a few months ago — though it was for a good cause.) (continue reading…)