Looks like Tiger Woods and Lindsey Vonn are serious. At least serious enough for Woods to bring the Olympic skier for a day on his yacht to spend quality time with his daughter Sam. (continue reading…)
Honestly, I’m over this whole controversy. Which one? Oh, The Incident on the second hole in the third round of The Players Championship, where Sergio accused Tiger of purposely causing a disturbance. I mean, really! Well, I guess there’s a part of me that finds it comically intriguing. So, what’s the latest twist is this never-ending episode of the Real Housewives of the PGA Tour?
Contrary to the Sports Illustrated report on Monday that quoted two marshals saying they never spoke with Tiger or told him Sergio had already hit. Turns out a volunteer did talk to Tiger, but only after he had already pulled the 5-wood, which caused the crowd to react noisily and distract Sergio, according to The Jacksonville Times-Union‘s Garry Smits: (continue reading…)
Just when you thought this season of the Real Housewives of the PGA Tour, starring Tiger Woods and Sergio Garcia, was over, there’s another twist. Nice work by SI’s Michael Bamberger, who tracked down the marshals working the second hole at TPC Sawgrass during the Players Championship, including Saturday when The Incident occurred. You know, the ones that supposedly told Tiger that Sergio had already hit, which led him to pull a club, resulting in the crowd to react and then distracting Sergio. (continue reading…)
At the risk of getting killed on the Internet and called a “Tiger hater,” I’m posting this because IT’S MY JOB, SO LEAVE ME THE EFF ALONE!
Besides, I’m a little late to the game because I didn’t think Tiger Woods’ drop on 14 was going to turn into Drop-gate, part deux. I know, silly me! I should know better. After all, Tiger farting is a big deal!
The way I see it is his playing partner told him the ball crossed farther up, so he was good, BUT at the same time, it’s up to the player to make the right call, as well. Basically, for rules nazis, Casey Wittenberg’s and Tiger’s words aren’t good enough for you. (Yes, I realize Tiger couldn’t know where it crossed because he looked away in disgust after he made contact.) (continue reading…)
What a hell of a tournament! — whether it was Sergio Garcia and Tiger Woods throwing handbags at each other or dunking balls in water hazards at crucial points on Sunday or someone missing and making a game-changing putt, there was no shortage of drama at TPC Sawgrass.
In the end, Woods captured his 78th PGA Tour victory, only four shy of Sam Snead’s all-time record of 82, and his second Players Championship title, not to mention his fourth win of the year, marking the earliest he’s achieved that feat in any season. (continue reading…)
Fresh off the red carpet at the most fashionable event of the year, Tiger Woods hit balls on the driving range and played four holes at TPC Sawgrass with instructor Sean Foley in tow before he met with the media for his traditional pre-tourney press conference.
It’s no secret Tiger isn’t the biggest fan of the home of The Players, where he’s won once and recorded four top-10s in 15 career starts. Woods answered questions about the Met Ball, this event, his game, and of course, the most-talked-about ruling in golf history. (continue reading…)
The USGA and R&A issued a statement on Wednesday explaining the ruling that saved Tiger Woods from disqualification at the Masters for taking an illegal drop. Basically, the governing bodies clarified that it will not serve as a precedent for waiving the penalty (disqualification) for signing an incorrect scorecard (see below under “Scope of Committee Discretion to Waive a Penalty of Disqualification for Failure to Return Correct Score”).
Pros (and amateur competitors) must still make sure they return an accurate score, so you can’t pull a “Tiger” – who was extended a lifeline because Fred Ridley, Masters tournament competition committee chairman, made an “erroneous” application of the rule. I know, darn it!
Fantastic reporting by SI’s Michael Bamberger on the series of events that led to the Tiger Woods rules snafu on the 15th hole in the second round of the Masters last month. Turns out the “television viewer” that called Fred Ridley, the tournament’s competition committee chairman — and ultimately saved Woods’ from disqualification for taking an improper drop — was Champions Tour player David Eger, according to Bamberger: (continue reading…)
Tiger Woods will take a pass on next week’s PGA Tour event, the Wells Fargo Championship, in Charlotte.
Traditionally, Woods has played at the tournament at Quail Hollow Club, but he also usually has a three-week break after the Masters. Due to a scheduling change, the tour stop in Charlotte was moved up a week. (continue reading…)
While Tiger Woods wasn’t aware he had made an illegal drop on the 15th hole during the second round of the Masters, a bunch of high school golfers in New York City spotted his mistake.
Catholic High School Athletic Association golf coaches make sure the members of their teams know the USGA rules. Bill Niklaus, head coach of the Archbishop Molloy boys golf team and the CHSAA golf chairman, had several of his players ask him the Monday following the Masters why Woods wasn’t penalized on the course, according to the New York Daily News. (continue reading…)