Category Archives: Rules

Apr
26
2017

Lexi Thompson spoke with the media for the first time since her heartbreaking loss 24 days ago at the ANA Inspiration after incurring a four-stroke penalty that ultimately cost her the trophy at the LPGA’s opening major of the year. Ahead of this week’s Volunteers of America Texas Shootout, the 22-year-old American held an emotional press conference Wednesday afternoon and broke down in tears at one point as she started to answer a question about the controversial rules infraction that a “concerned” viewer spotted on the telecast from the previous day’s round and brought it to the attention of an LPGA rules official via email during Sunday’s final round.

Continue Reading

Apr
25
2017

When reports popped up Monday about the USGA and R&A making a big announcement about a rules change after the massive backlash resulting from Lexi Thompson’s unfortunate four-stroke penalty in the final round of the ANA Inspiration that ultimately cost her the major title.

Naturally, Golf Twitter responded in real time with utter outrage and disbelief, and then, of course, a flood of articles and columns dissecting the incident, Rules of Golf, TV vigilantism, etc. followed for days, which is the norm after such a controversial incident, but this was a special scenario because the women’s first major occurs the week right before the Masters. And usually, once Monday rolls around — the official start of Masters week — any coverage of the ladies’ major gets buried and forgotten because all eyes turn toward Augusta National.

Continue Reading

May
11
2014
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Rose opines

Rose opines on the bizarre rules gaffe

Justin Rose found himself in the center of attention over an unprecedented rules incident this weekend at The Players Championship. Rose had resigned to accepting his fate — a two-shot penalty under Rule 18-2b for his ball moving ever so slightly behind the 18th green at TPC Sawgrass during the third round. Then, he arrived to the course on Sunday for his 12:35pm tee time and learned about 30 minutes prior that PGA Tour officials had decided to rescind the penalty. 

Continue Reading

Dec
5
2013
By Stephanie Wei under European PGA Tour
Disciplinary action

Simon Dyson, report to the principal’s office

Simon Dyson was fined $49,000 and handed a two-month ban and suspended for 18 months after being found guilty of a serious breach of the European Tour’s code of behavior as a result of an incident at the BMW Masters in Shanghai in October.

Dyson met with a three-man disciplinary panel that convened at the Tour’s headquarters in Wentworth on Thursday to determine his fate due to a rules violation, where he tapped down a spike mark with his ball that was directly in the line of his short par putt. He was disqualified from the tournament for signing an incorrect scorecard because he failed to add a two-shot penalty for his infraction. 

Continue Reading

Nov
19
2013
WTH?

WTH?

On Tuesday the USGA and R&A announced 87 changes — three new Decisions, 59 revised Decisions, one re-numbered Decision and 24 Decisions withdrawn — to the Rules of Golf that will be effective January 1, 2014, but there were four significant ones, with the most notable involving the use of high-definition or slow-motion video and other visual evidence in enforcing the game’s rules.

Golf’s governing bodies may have been prompted to make this new decision as a result of several controversies during the 2013 season, particularly the Oscillate-gate incident with Tiger Woods receiving a two-shot penalty for his ball moving at the BMW Championship. 

Continue Reading

Oct
31
2013
Oh, bloody hell

Oh, bloody hell

Under European Tour policy, Simon Dyson faces a disciplinary hearing over his disqualification for a rules infraction last week at the BMW Masters. Dyson, who was tied for second at the halfway mark, marked his ball on the eighth green and then briskly tapped down a spike mark that was in the line of his short par putt, violating Rule 16-1a.

Continue Reading

Sep
16
2013

Here now, we have a screen grab from one of Geoff Shackelford’s readers of Tiger Woods and the incident during the second round that resulted in a two-stroke penalty (go here for the video footage). Here’s the ball before Woods started meddling with the loose impediments around it and after.

TigerBallMoveCloseups

 

Continue Reading

Aug
17
2013
Bad luck Charlie

Bad luck Charlie

Prior to the start of the third round of the Wyndham Championship, Charles Howell III was disqualified for unintentionally violating Rule 4-1a for using a non-conforming driver. Howell’s club became illegal when the “toe cap” — weighing less than a gram — fell off during his warm-up before the second round.

In a game of what sounds like telephone, a PGA Tour rules official was informed of the breach by USGA staff member, according to Golfweek’s Adam Schupak

Continue Reading

Jul
1
2013
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Sorry, anchorers, you've lost this battle

Sorry, anchorers, you’ve lost this battle

In May, the USGA and R&A made a joint announcement that they had decided to proceed with their decision to adopt Rule 14-1b — banning the anchored putting stroke — effective as of January 1, 2016.

While the PGA Tour and Commissioner Tim Finchem have voiced their opposition to the rule and a group of players who use the stroke have lawyered up, the Tour Policy Board convened the week of the Memorial Tournament and all signs seemed to indicate they’d follow the decree of golf’s governing bodies. After all, how confusing would it be to have two sets of rules and it’d be the PGA Tour saying they were above the game of golf, etc.

On Monday, the Tour announced the Tour Policy Board met this morning and voted to conform with the USGA and R&A’s rule. Here’s the press release:

Continue Reading