Category Archives: LPGA

Apr
26
2017

Lexi Thompson spoke with the media for the first time since her heartbreaking loss 24 days ago at the ANA Inspiration after incurring a four-stroke penalty that ultimately cost her the trophy at the LPGA’s opening major of the year. Ahead of this week’s Volunteers of America Texas Shootout, the 22-year-old American held an emotional press conference Wednesday afternoon and broke down in tears at one point as she started to answer a question about the controversial rules infraction that a “concerned” viewer spotted on the telecast from the previous day’s round and brought it to the attention of an LPGA rules official via email during Sunday’s final round.

Continue Reading

Apr
4
2017

Whoa, whoa, whoa. Hold up! That’s going too far, I think, as much as I feel for Lexi Thompson and believe she was robbed of a major. It could also set a dangerous precedent and open way too many doors that would not turn out to be beneficial to anyone. To clarify, Phil Mickelson’s quote in the headline is referring to reversing the result of the tournament and taking the ANA Inspiration trophy away from So Yeon Ryu and giving it to Lexi.

However, I agree with his general comments about the rule and the situation. I mean, holy crap, it’s Tuesday of Masters week and the Lexi rules controversy story is still making headlines! As I said yesterday, it’s great we’re talking about women’s golf (kind of), but it’s for the wrong reasons and it’s more of a general problem in golf and it’s not exactly a good look for the game.

Continue Reading

Apr
3
2017

Leave it to yet a(nother) incredulous and absurd rules controversy to cloud the discussion and news coming out of Augusta National on Monday of arguably the biggest week in golf. In a regard, I’m glad the ANA Inspiration, one of the five majors in the women’s game, is actually getting attention, and the stories aren’t lost in the usually overwhelming joy and coverage of Masters previews as they have in years past.

Unfortunately, the spotlight isn’t on celebrating a great champion, but it’s golf’s latest rules debacle, which isn’t exactly the most flattering look for a niche sport that seems obsessed with the never-ending discussing on “growing the game.” Well, letting absurd rules incident play out dramatically on live television isn’t doing golf any favors.

Continue Reading

Apr
3
2017

The golf world reacted via social media with outrage and harsh words Sunday evening during the final round of the ANA Inspiration, the first women’s major of the year. This is yet another incident of golf getting in its own way and looking stupid and lame to casual sports fans who already have that impression of the game.

Walking off the 12th green with the lead, Lexi Thompson was informed she was receiving a four-shot penalty for infractions from the third round. A TV viewer notified the LPGA via email that Thompson had marked her ball and improperly replaced it before tapping-in a one-footer on the 17th hole a day earlier. She received two strokes for the incorrect ball placement and then another two shots for signing an incorrect scorecard — the whole situation was absurd, but the latter was more flagrant since she didn’t know at the time.

Despite Lexi’s impressive ability to fight back and respond with back-to-back birdies after receiving the devastating news, she eventually lost in an one-hole playoff to So Yeon Ryu. In other words, this retroactive, unbelievably delayed infraction late in the final round of a major championship cost Thompson the major title.

Continue Reading

Apr
4
2016

Before we dive into Masters week, I’d be remiss if I didn’t give the Great Lydia Ko a big shout-out. Ko is incredible. It’s too bad women’s sports don’t get the same attention as their male counterparts (and I shamefully haven’t done enough to help the problem).

Ko needed to birdie the 72nd hole to win the ANA Inspiration, the first major of the year for the ladies, and she did just that to get to 12-under for the tournament and finish a stroke ahead of Charley Hull and In Gee Chun. Naturally, Ko etched her name in history (tell me if you haven’t heard that before; we’re already used to it!).

Continue Reading

Jun
11
2015

Round one of the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Westchester Country Club is in the books, and the afternoon wave certainly lit up the golf course, with Jenny Shin posting an impressive bogey-free seven-under 66 to take the lead.

“I started the round feeling a little uncertain,” said Shin. “I didn’t know how I was going to play, I really didn’t know. I talked to my psychologist last night about how I was freaking out for this round, so I tried to play as comfortable as I can, just like any other tournament. I tried not to think of it as a major and it turned out great. I had a couple bogey-free rounds last week, so I think I’m on a good run here.”

Continue Reading

Jun
11
2015

Three-under was a very popular score amongst the morning wave that teed off in the first round of the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship at Westchester Country Club. At one point, there were 14 players tied at -3, but it appears scoring conditions have improved for the afternoon wave and there are several players that have gotten to four- or five-under.

I had the chance to catch up with a few of the ladies who played in the morning. First, I chatted with Christina Kim, who shot a two-under 71, which included a long birdie putt on the 18th from off the green — and a kickass celebration with plenty of fist pumps.

Continue Reading

Jun
9
2015

Welcome to a major week on the LPGA! — the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship, formerly known as the LPGA Championship, is taking place at Westchester Country Club.

Last May, the LPGA, KPMG and the PGA of America announced they were collaborating to create a multi-faceted program focused on the development, advancement, and empowerment of women on and off the golf course. The event was given a new identity — and not per se replacing the LPGA Championship, rather “elevating” it.

Continue Reading

May
11
2015

KPMG Women's PGA Champ Media Day

Next month’s KPMG Women’s PGA Championship was officially introduced on Monday at Westchester Country Club, the site of the inaugural event. Well, sort of. As organizers and executives from all parties, KPMG, the LPGA, and PGA of America, pointed out, this tournament is not replacing the former 60-year-old LPGA Championship in the major line-up, but instead, the new partnership is elevating it. 

Continue Reading

Apr
5
2015

Brittany Lincicome earned her second jump into Poppie’s Pond when it was all said and done after a thrilling finish at the ANA Inspiration, the LPGA’s first major of the season. Lincicome, who overcame a four-shot deficit at the start of the day and didn’t realize the significance at the time, rolled in a 10-footer for eagle on the par-5 18th in regulation — yep, the 72nd hole — to get to nine-under for the championship.

Continue Reading