Favorites to win The Open Championship
By Bernie D'Amato under The Open Championship


The Open Championship betting odds accurately reflect the state of the game. There is no outright frontrunner, but rather several players who “have a chance.”

Justin Rose has won his last two events, and he shares the top spot with Rory McIlroy at 14/1. McIlroy has had an up-and-down year, but his game is on an upward trajectory after a poor 2013 season.

In my opinion, Adam Scott (16/1) should be the favorite. Since 2011, he has eight top-10s in majors, and has a sense of urgency to finish his career with more than one major win. Scott has been practicing at Hoylake since last Thursday, so there won’t be a better prepared player in the field.

We simply have no idea how Tiger (18/1) will perform in his second event since back surgery. A win would be surprising, but you can never count Tiger out.

Sergio (25/1) has seven career top-10s in The Open, so the bookmakers have given him a little better chance to win this week. I thought this year would be the year of world-class first-timers, but I have been wrong so far. Garcia certainly would be the ultimate player to get his first major win.

I’m curious to hear your thoughts on the Bovada.lv odds. The two issues I have are Paul Casey and Zach Johnson at 50/1.

Casey should not be listed above Keegan Bradley (80/1) or Patrick Reed (100/1). He has one top-10 on the European Tour this season.

Zach Johnson always plays well at the John Deere Classic, and the confidence from a second place finish should get his season back on track. Johnson is a 30/1 guy, and with the current odds he is a good pick.

Bovada.lv betting odds:

Justin Rose 14/1
Rory McIlroy 14/1
Adam Scott 16/1
Henrik Stenson 16/1
Tiger Woods 18/1
Martin Kaymer 20/1
Phil Mickelson 20/1
G. McDowell 25/1
Sergio Garcia 25/1
Dustin Johnson 33/1
Jason Day 33/1
Jordan Spieth 33/1
Rickie Fowler 33/1
Bubba Watson 40/1
Lee Westwood 40/1
Luke Donald 40/1
Matt Kuchar 40/1
Angel Cabrera 50/1
Brandt Snedeker 50/1
H. Matsuyama 50/1
Ian Poulter 50/1
Paul Casey 50/1
Thomas Bjorn 50/1
Zach Johnson 50/1


–Bernie D’Amato