WGC-Accenture Match Play qualification closed: Who’s in, who’s out?
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour
Matt Kuchar will try to defend his title next week at Dove Mountain (everybody's fave venue!)
The qualification process for next week’s WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship is over, but the field won’t be complete until Friday, when players have to officially commit to the tournament.

Tiger Woods, Adam Scott and Phil Mickelson have already indicated they will NOT compete in the first World Golf Championship event of 2014. At no. 3 in the world, Henrik Stenson will be the highest-ranked player in the field, giving him the no. 1 seed. 

Here’s the press release detailing the players who moved up in the rankings, along with the lucky three who are in the field due to Tiger, Phil and Adam’s absence:

Marana, Ariz. (February 11, 2014) – With the conclusion of the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am and the Joburg Open on the European Tour, the top 64 players on the current Official World Golf Ranking (OWGR) have solidified their qualifying position in the field for the 2014 World Golf Championships-Accenture Match Play Championship.

Players have until Friday, February 14, at 5 p.m. ET to officially commit to the tournament, which returns to The Golf Club at Dove Mountain in Marana, Ariz., February 17-23. The 2014 bracket and tee times will be unveiled on Sunday, February 16, once the OWGR is updated following the conclusion of the Northern Trust Open on the PGA TOUR.

One player made a significant jump in the rankings and into the field– South Africa’s George Coetzee, who went from No. 74 in the OWGR to No. 59, thanks to his three-stroke win at the Joburg Open, co-sanctioned by the European Tour and Sunshine Tour.  This will be Coetzee’s third consecutive appearance at the Accenture Match Play Championship; he will be looking to advance beyond the first round for the first time.

In addition to Coetzee, who was No. 98 in the world at the end of the 2013, six players moved from outside the top 64 in the world to inside the Accenture Match Play Championship field this year: Stephen Gallacher (No. 66 to No. 37); Patrick Reed (No. 73 to No. 45); Scott Stallings(No. 106 to No. 54); Mikko Ilonen (No. 84 to No. 55); Pablo Larrazabal (No. 101 to No. 57);Kevin Stadler (No. 113 to No. 58); Thorbjorn Olesen (No. 65 to No. 60) ); and Mark Leishman (No. 72 to No. 62).

Tiger Woods, Adam Scott and Phil Mickelson have each indicated they may not compete in this year’s Accenture Match Play Championship, which means – pending the commitment deadline on Friday – that South Africa’s Richard Sterne (No. 65), American Scott Piercy (No. 66) and 2013 Asian Tour Order of Merit winner Kiradech Aphibarnrat of Thailand (No. 67) would make the field.

Here’s the field as of now:

Rank  Name                           Country

1          Tiger Woods*              USA

2          Adam Scott*                 AUS

3          Henrik Stenson            SWE

4          Phil Mickelson*           USA

5          Justin Rose                   ENG

6          Rory McIlroy               NIR

7          Zach Johnson               USA

8          Sergio Garcia                ESP

9          Matt Kuchar                 USA

10         Jason Day                     AUS

11         Dustin Johnson             USA

12         Steve Stricker                USA

13         Jordan Spieth                USA

14         Ian Poulter                   ENG

15         Graeme McDowell       NIR

16         Jason Dufner                USA

17         Brandt Snedeker           USA

18         Charl Schwartzel           RSA

19         Webb Simpson             USA

20         Luke Donald                ENG

21         Hideki Matsuyama       JPN

22         Jim Furyk                     USA

23         Keegan Bradley            USA

24         Jimmy Walker              USA

25         Thomas Bjorn              DEN

26         Bubba Watson              USA

27         Graham Delaet             CAN

28         Jamie Donaldson          WAL

29         Victor Dubuisson          FRA

30         Ryan Moore                USA

31         Hunter Mahan              USA

32         Bill Haas                      USA

33         Lee Westwood             ENG

34         Louis Oosthuizen         RSA

35         Ernie Els                      RSA

36         Nick Watney                USA

37         Stephen Gallacher         SCO

38         Gonzalo Fdez-Castano  ESP

39         Miguel A Jimenez        ESP

40         Kevin Streelman           USA

41         Joost Luiten                  NED

42         Billy Horschel              USA

43         Harris English               USA

44         Patrick Reed                USA

45         Francesco Molinari       ITA

46         Jonas Blixt                    SWE

47         Branden Grace             RSA

48         Martin Kaymer             GER

49         Chris Kirk                    USA

50         Matteo Manassero        ITA

51         Thongchai Jaidee          THA

52         David Lynn                  ENG

53         Rickie Fowler              USA

54         Scott Stallings                USA

55         Mikko Ilonen               FIN

56         Gary Woodland            USA

57         Pablo Larrazabal            ESP

58         Kevin Stadler                USA

59         George Coetzee           RSA

60         Thorbjorn Olesen        DEN

61         Peter Hanson                SWE

62         Bernd Wiesberger        AUT

63         Marc Leishman             AUS

64         Boo Weekley               USA

65         Richard Sterne             RSA

66         Scott Piercy                   USA

67         Kiradech Aphibarnrat   THA

*Have indicated they will not be playing