May
13
2013
Drop-gate II: Did Tiger Woods take an improper drop on no. 14?
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

At the risk of getting killed on the Internet and called a “Tiger hater,” I’m posting this because IT’S MY JOB, SO LEAVE ME THE EFF ALONE!

Besides, I’m a little late to the game because I didn’t think Tiger Woods’ drop on 14 was going to turn into Drop-gate, part deux. I know, silly me! I should know better. After all, Tiger farting is a big deal!

The way I see it is his playing partner told him the ball crossed farther up, so he was good, BUT at the same time, it’s up to the player to make the right call, as well. Basically, for rules nazis, Casey Wittenberg’s and Tiger’s words aren’t good enough for you. (Yes, I realize Tiger couldn’t know where it crossed because he looked away in disgust after he made contact.)

“I saw it perfectly off the tee,” said Wittenberg. “I told him exactly where I thought it crossed, and we all agreed, so he’s definitely great on that. There is no doubt, guys. The ball crossed where he dropped.”

OK, fair enough, but according to the above video with couch commentator and supposed physics expert John Ziegler, it’s physically impossible to hit a pop-up hook, but Tiger said that’s precisely what he did.

“I hit a pop-up big high hook, so it started way right, and then it went way left,” said Woods in his post-round presser. “So it had a lot of room to it. We decided it crossed there, and I played it.”

Meanwhile, NBC announcer Mark Rolfing said it was headed left from the get-go.

And the PGA Tour also released this statement (good job covering your asses, guys):

“Without definitive evidence, the point where Woods’ ball last crossed the lateral water hazard is determined through best judgment by Woods and his fellow competitor. If that point later proves to be a wrong point (through television or other means), the player is not penalized by Rule 26-1 given the fact that a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water-hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect (Decision 26-1/17).”

Of the seven players who knocked their ball in the hazard off the tee on no. 14 last week at The Players, six of them dropped back on the tee box and only one dropped significantly farther up.

Basically, conspiracy theorists are saying the ball traveled in an impossible angle sort of like the way the bullet did in JFK’s assassination, or something like that. Whatever, I honestly don’t feel like getting in a screaming match with people and I’m used to being called names — Wittenberg’s word was good enough for me.