As you may have noticed, there hasn’t been any new content published on WUP since Tuesday. My bad! I’ve been resting at my parents’ home in Seattle and recovering from post-WGC-major-fatigue disorder — which is a shame since the weather here has been absolutely perfect (high-70s, low-80s, no humidity). Plus, I obviously had to recharge my batteries before THE FEDEX CUP PLAYOFFS!
And now we’re back to your regularly-scheduled WUP programming. In other words, I’m posting again.
Thanks for your patience and understanding.
It appears like Webb Simpson is finally going to notch that elusive first victory at the Wyndham Championship. A few months ago in New Orleans, Simpson basically got screwed out of a win because of one of those rules — playing the final round of the Zurich Classic in windy conditions, he stepped up to putt a one-footer when a gust caused his ball to move on the 15th hole. Since Simpson had already grounded the putter and addressed the ball, he incurred a one-shot penalty.
The good to come out of it all? The USGA is adding an amendment to rule 18-2b.
Webb just birdied the 15th and 16th at Sedgefield to give him some breathing distance from the field. With two holes to play, he has a three-shot lead over George McNeill, who is already in the clubhouse.
While it is possible that Webb pulls a Jean-Van-de-Velde on 18, I think it’s safe to say Simpson is going to capture his first PGA Tour victory. Congrats!
(AP Photo/Chuck Burton)