Pairings for the Sony Open and Other Tidbits
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

Ernie Els is one of the top stars playing in the Sony Open

The Sony Open, the second and final stop in the PGA Tour’s Hawaii swing, kicks off at Waialae Country Club in Honolulu tomorrow. Well, that is, if the weather holds up. Wednesday’s pro-am was quickly canceled due to heavy rain, not to mention strong gales sweeping in from the ocean (I was almost blown away!). There was over two inches of precipitation, causing officials to close the course and practice areas.

According to a Tour official, the weather expert says two-three inches are expected overnight and into Thursday morning. As of now, tee times are as stands, but it all depends on the weather. I’m told that some golf will be played, it’s just a matter of when. But when the event gets going, tune into Golf Channel’s coverage to get inside defending champion Ryan Palmer’s head — he’s wearing a mic during the telecast (tape delayed, of course, so your kids don’t have to wear ear muffs in case an F-bomb happens to slip).

John Merrick, Doug LaBelle, Tony Finau and Kevin Hayashi were added to the field after placing in the top-four at the Monday qualifier at Turtle Bay on Oahu’s North Shore.

Four-time PGA Tour winner Dave Eichelberger shot his age (67) to win the Aloha Section Stroke Play Championship and qualify for the event. He told Ann Miller of the Honolulu Star-Advertiser:

“My goal is to try and drive it in the fairway,” Eichelberger says. “If I drive it in the fairway I have a chance to shoot par or under. If I’m not driving it in the fairway you won’t be seeing me making any cuts.

“I don’t have the power to get out there far enough and blow a wedge out of 2-inch rough up onto the green. If I drive it in the rough I’ll be chomping it out with a 9-iron 50 yards short of the green. … My goal is to drive it in the fairway.”

Brett Wetterich, Dustin Johnson and Ricky Barnes (back injury) withdrew from the field. Beers on those that got in the tournament from the alternate list — Alexandre Rocha, Peter Tomasulo and Jim Renner. We need two more guys to pull out, so that Andres Gonzales gets in! Where’s Jeff Gillooly when you need him?! Just kidding…

But there’s a common misconception that once you get through Q-school, you are guaranteed a spot to play in PGA Tour events. That’s not the case. Andres placed T22 last December to earn his card, but he’s not in the field. He’s sixth on the alternate list.

The “featured” pairing on Thursday includes Matt Kuchar, Steve Stricker and Palmer. In the morning wave, Ernie Els, Jim Furyk and Jonathan Byrd are probably what you’d call the marquee group. Here are the first- and second-round pairings in full:

Rnd 1
1 Tee
Rnd 2
10 Tee
7:10am 11:40am Aaron Baddeley
Melbourne, AUS
Josh Teater
Lexington, KY
Troy Merritt
Boise, ID
7:20 11:50 Shaun Micheel
Memphis, TN
Dave Eichelberger
Honolulu, HI
Charles Warren
Greenville, SC
7:30 12:00 Chris Riley
San Diego, CA
Duffy Waldorf
Northridge, CA
Paul Stankowski
Flower Mound, TX
7:40 12:10 Heath Slocum
Alpharetta, GA
Carl Pettersson
Raleigh, NC
Brian Gay
Windermere, FL
7:50 12:20 Stuart Appleby
Victoria, AUS
Justin Rose
London, ENG
Justin Leonard
Dallas, TX
8:00 12:30 Derek Lamely
Fort Myers, FL
Mark Wilson
Chicago, IL
Davis Love III
Sea Island, GA
8:10 12:40 Troy Matteson
Dripping Springs, TX
Marc Turnesa
Rockville Centre, NY
Fred Funk
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
8:20 12:50 Chad Campbell
Andrews, TX
Brian Davis
London, ENG
Spencer Levin
Elk Grove, CA
8:30 1:00 Tommy Gainey
Bishopville, SC
Michael Thompson
Tucson, AZ
Matt McQuillan
Kingston, ONT, CAN
8:40 1:10 Chris Kirk
Sea Island, GA
Nate Smith
Jupiter, FL
Tadahiro Takayama
8:50 1:20 Michael Putnam
Tacoma, WA
David Hearn
Brantford, ON, CAN
Peter Tomasulo
Long Beach, CA
9:00 1:30 David Mathis
Wake Forest, NC
Daniel Summerhays
Farmington, UT
Kevin Hayashi
Hilo, HI
Rnd 1
10 Tee
Rnd 2
1 Tee
7:10am 11:40am Steve Flesch
Union, KY
Joe Durant
Pensacola, FL
Shane Bertsch
Denver, CO
7:20 11:50 Jeff Maggert
Houston, TX
Webb Simpson
Raleigh, NC
Jimmy Walker
Boerne, TX
7:30 12:00 Jesper Parnevik
Jupiter, FL
Jason Dufner
Auburn, AL
Jim Renner
7:40 12:10 Jonathan Byrd
Sea Island, GA
Jim Furyk
Ponte Vedra Bch, FL
Ernie Els
South Africa
7:50 12:20 Robert Garrigus
Scottsdale, AZ
Adam Scott
Queensland, AUS
Camilo Villegas
Medellin, COL
8:00 12:30 Matt Bettencourt
Greenville, SC
Jason Bohn
Acworth, GA
Nathan Green
Newcastle, NSW, AUS
8:10 12:40 Dean H. Wilson
Kaneohe, HI
David Duval
Denver, CO
Jamie Lovemark
Jupiter, FL
8:20 12:50 Charles Howell III
Orlando, FL
Tim Petrovic
Austin, TX
John Daly
Dardanelle, AR
8:30 1:00 Keegan Bradley
Woodstock, VT
Scott Stallings
Oak Ridge, TN
Tony Finau
Lehi, UT
8:40 1:10 Jhonattan Vegas
Maturin, VEN
Alexandre Rocha
Sao Paulo, BRA
Hideki Matsuyama-Y
Ehime, JPN
8:50 1:20 Hunter Haas
Ft. Worth, TX
Bobby Gates
The Woodlands, TX
Sunghoon Kang
9:00 1:30 Gary Woodland
Topeka, KS
Joe Affrunti
Crystal Lake, IL
Shunsuke Sonoda
Rnd 1
1 Tee
Rnd 2
10 Tee
11:40am 7:10am Alex Cejka
Las Vegas, NV
Roland Thatcher
The Woodlands, TX
Blake Adams
Eatonton, GA
11:50 7:20 Ryuji Imada
Tampa, FL
Steve Marino
Tequesta, FL
Matt Jones
Sydney, AUS
12:00 7:30 John Merrick
Long Beach, CA
Michael Sim
Perth, AUS
Jeff Klauk
St. Augustine, FL
12:10 7:40 Matt Kuchar
St Simons Island, GA
Steve Stricker
Madison, WI
Ryan Palmer
Amarillo, TX
12:20 7:50 Jason Day
Brisbane, AUS
Anthony Kim
Dallas, TX
Vijay Singh
Fiji Islands
12:30 8:00 Arjun Atwal
Calcutta, IND
Cameron Beckman
San Antonio, TX
Pat Perez
Scottsdale, AZ
12:40 8:10 Paul Goydos
Long Beach, CA
Alex Prugh
Spokane, WA
Michael Connell
Houston, TX
12:50 8:20 Tim Herron
Wayzata, MN
Shigeki Maruyama
Tokyo, JPN
Jeff Overton
Evansville, IN
1:00 8:30 Cameron Tringale
Las Vegas, NV
Ben Martin
Greenwood, SC
WC Liang
Zhongshan, CHN
1:10 8:40 Jim Herman
Port St. Lucie, FL
Brendan Steele
Idyllwild, CA
Koumei Oda
1:20 8:50 Scott Gutschewski
Prosper, TX
Jarrod Lyle
Melbourne, AUS
Steven Bowditch
Queensland, AUS
1:30 9:00 Kyle Stanley
Gig Harbor, WA
Martin Piller
Dallas, TX
Joseph Bramlett
Saratoga, CA
Rnd 1
10 Tee
Rnd 2
1 Tee
11:40am 7:10am Billy Mayfair
Scottsdale, AZ
Chris DiMarco
Heathrow, FL
Kent Jones
Albuquerque, NM
11:50 7:20 John Senden
Brisbane, AUS
Brandt Jobe
Westlake, TX
Tag Ridings
Keller, TX
12:00 7:30 Boo Weekley
East Milton, FL
Tom Gillis
Lake Orion, MI
Chad Collins
Cloverdale, IN
12:10 7:40 Tim Clark
Scottsdale, AZ
Bo Van Pelt
Tulsa, OK
K.J. Choi
Dallas, TX
12:20 7:50 Zach Johnson
Cedar Rapids, IA
Rory Sabbatini
Ft. Worth, TX
Robert Allenby
Melbourne, AUS
12:30 8:00 Rocco Mediate
Naples, FL
Jerry Kelly
Madison, WI
D.J. Trahan
Mt. Pleasant, SC
12:40 8:10 Johnson Wagner
Charlotte, NC
Charlie Wi
Westlake Village, CA
Marc Leishman
Melbourne, AUS
12:50 8:20 Kevin Na
Las Vegas, NV
Brendon de Jonge
Charlotte, NC
Fredrik Jacobson
Gothenburg, SWE
1:00 8:30 Chris Baryla
Vernon, BC, CAN
Zack Miller
San Rafael, CA
Kevin Kisner
Aiken, SC
1:10 8:40 Kevin Chappell
Fresno, CA
Fabian Gomez
Chaco, ARG
David Saka-Y
Honalulu, HI
1:20 8:50 D.J. Brigman
Albuquerque, NM
Colt Knost
Dallas, TX
Michio Matsumura
1:30 9:00 Bio Kim
South Korea
William McGirt
Boiling Springs, SC
Doug LaBelle II
Phoenix, AZ

Fingers crossed for the weather to cooperate!

(AP Photo/Eric Risberg)