Jim Furyk Adds PGA Tour POTY Trophy to 2010 Collection
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

Jim Furyk’s peers have voted him the 2010 PGA Tour Player of the Year, an award Tiger has won 9 of the last 11 years. Furyk was the only three-time winner on the tour this season. He posted victories at the Transitions Championship, the Verizon Heritage and the season-ending Tour Championship, which clinched the FedEx Cup and $10 million bonus.

“Three wins might not look good against what Phil or Tiger or Vijay have done maybe in the past, but that was more wins than anyone else had last year,” Furyk said at a press conference Dec. 1 at the Chevron World Challenge event in Thousand Oaks, California, according to Bloomberg.

Asked if Tiger’s crappy year overshadowed his stellar year, Furyk replied, “Everyone on January 1 had the same opportunity to go out and play well as I did. I realize Tiger wasn’t his best. He had other things off the course. But I’m not going to feel badly. There wouldn’t be in asterisk in my mind.”

Furyk credits his great year to his support system.

“As I said, it’s special, but it’s special because my peers voted for me,” said Furyk at a press conference at the Chevron on Sunday. “It’s special because of the year, because it’s 17 years of hard work. But it’s just been a very, very wonderful year for both myself and my family and everyone that’s part of my team that helped me play better.”

Furyk also attributed things to timing.

“’08 and ’09 were disappointing because I didn’t win, and at this point in my career what’s most important really is trying to win golf tournaments, trying to win major championships, and to not be able to do that in ’08 and ’09 but then turn around and kind of ran the tables for me this year, winning three events, winning the FedExCup, Player of the Year, I definitely timing is everything, and I took advantage of it and hopefully can grow on that for the future.”

Apparently, the voting results are a Ponte Vedra state secret. The Tour doesn’t release the results to the ballot, so we we’ll never know the margin of victory that Furyk won by. Or which player tallied the second-most votes or third, for that matter.

(AP Photo/Reed Saxon)