Nov
1
2010
Another Rules Blunder: Whoops, Monty!
By Stephanie Wei under Humor

Colin Montgomerie appears irked by his rules snafu

Add Colin Montgomerie to the list of players that didn’t read the local rules sheet at the Mission Hills Star Trophy in China. Prior to incurring a two-stroke penalty (for one of the most preposterous infractions I’ve heard of), Monty was heading to a playoff with the semi-retired LPGA star Lorena Ochoa.

You see, on the 16th hole, Monty’s drive stopped a few yards behind an advertising sign in the fairway, which blocked his shot to the hole. Monty, his caddie and a marshal lifted the sign out of the ground, which breached a (ridiculous) local rule.

Via the Guardian:

“Under the conditions of this competition, which are given to every player, the advertising signs [are] temporary immovable obstructions,” the director of the tournament in Hainan, David Parkin, said.

“You can’t move them. Unfortunately for Colin his caddie has helped in the movement of this board. As soon as he moved that, it’s a two-stroke penalty.”

Reports say that Monty got in a heated discussion with Parkin before he marched away in a huff. Can you blame him? I mean, honestly, the sign was in the fairway. As Reader Kevin wrote, “What’s next, put up a billboard in front of the green the guys have to flop over?”

The two-stroke penalty cost Monty a chance at a playoff for $1.28 million (which I guess was made possible in part by the ad sign that Monty temporarily moved) in the winner-takes-all mixed event.

Thoughts? Was this just another example of golf’s silly rules or rules are rules?