Tiger Officially Enters PGA Championship
By Stephanie Wei under PGA Tour

Apparently Tiger Woods is a man of his word. As he promised earlier this year, he’s continuing to send in his entry forms to tournaments with plenty of notice. In fact, he was among one of the first four players to enter the 2010 PGA Championship at Whistling Straits. The other three were Masters champion Phil Mickelson, US Open champion Graeme McDowell and two-time PGA champion Vijay Singh, who won the 2004 PGA Championship three-way playoff when it was last played at Whistling Straits.

As surely everyone recalls, Tiger was runner-up in the 2009 PGA Championship, where he lost a two-shot lead to Y.E. Yang, who put on an astounding performance in the final round. Yang made history as the first Asian-born male to win a major championship — and the first to taken down Tiger when he held the 54-hole lead in a major.

In 2004 Tiger placed T24 at the PGA Championship. And is anyone surprised he’s playing this year? Not at all.

Just for fun, here’s the amazing hybrid shot Yang hit on the 72nd hole that basically clinched the win — in my opinion, it was the most impressive approach into the final hole at a major championship given the conditions.