US Open 3rd Round Pairings: Someone Tell Phil His Tee Time Is 3:30, Not 4:15
By Stephanie Wei under General

In Phil Mickelson’s post-round comments, he quipped, “I can’t wait to get out tomorrow for that 4:15 tee time in the afternoon, it’s great.” He must have been joking, right? No way the last tee time would be that late. Actually, his guesstimate was close. Paired with Alex Cejka, Phil plays in the third to last group at 3:30 on Saturday. Ryo Ishikawa and Ernie Els follow at 3:40 and Dustin Johnson and 36-hole leader Graeme McDowell are the final pairing at 3:50.

I guess it’s part of the plan for the coverage to wrap up during primetime on the east coast, which actually might be a fantastic move by the network because of golf’s viewing demographic — lots of old people with no lives! (Kidding.) Here are the third round pairings in full:

9:00 AM,Ty Tryon
9:10 AM,Bobby Gates, Kent Jones
9:20 AM, Jim Herman, Jason Gore
9:30 AM,Thongchai Jaidee, Yuta Ikeda
9:40 AM, Stewart Cink, Stuart Appleby
9:50 AM,Mike Weir, Retief Goosen
10:00 AM,Hiroyuki Fujita, Zach Johnson
10:10 AM,Toru Taniguchi, John Mallinger
10:20 AM,Brandt Snedeker, Kenny Perry
10:30 AM,Peter Hanson, Tom Watson
10:40 AM,Davis Love III, Steve Stricker
10:50 AM,Sergio Garcia, Pablo Martin
11:00 AM,Gareth Maybin, Chris Stroud
11:10 AM,Craig Barlow, Ricky Barnes
11:20 AM,Eric Axley, Robert Allenby
11:30 AM,Steve Marino, Erick Justesen
11:40 AM,Matthew Richardson, Ryan Moore
11:50 AM,Rhys Davies, Ben Curtis
12:00 PM,David Duval, Robert Karlsson
12:10 PM,Henrik Stenson, Nick Watney
12:20 PM,Angel Cabrera, Jim Furyk
12:30 PM,Camilo Villegas, Edoardo Molinari
12:40 PM,Bo Van Pelt, Russell Henley (a)
12:50 PM,Sean O’Hair, Steve Wheatcroft
1:00 PM,Matt Bettencourt, David Toms
1:10 PM,Lucas Glover, Scott Verplank
1:20 PM,Matt Kuchar, Padraig Harrington
1:30 PM,Luke Donald, Fred Funk
1:40 PM,Tiger Woods, Vijay Singh (This should be a comfortable twosome. Tiger really can’t catch a break, huh?)
1:50 PM,S.Y. Noh, Shaun Micheel
2:00 PM,Ross McGowan, Jason Dufner
2:10 PM,Justin Leonard, Rafael Cabrera
2:20 PM,Jason Preeo, Jason Allred
2:30 PM,Charl Schwartzel, Martin Kaymer
2:40 PM,Lee Westwood, Tim Clark
2:50 PM,Gregory Havret, Scott Langley (a)
3:00 PM,Ian Poulter, K. J. Choi
3:10 PM,Soren Kjeldsen, Jerry Kelly
3:20 PM,Brendon de Jonge, Paul Casey
3:30 PM,Alex Cejka, Phil Mickelson
3:40 PM,Ryo Ishikawa, Ernie Els
3:50 PM,Dustin Johnson, Graeme McDowell