Apr
2
2010
The Trouble With Phil’s Balls
By Stephanie Wei under General

Phil Mickelson encountered some bad luck in the second round of the Shell Houston Open. On the 10th hole, a short par 4, he drove it in the hazard. When he attempted to hit out of it, his ball hit another ball (watch closely in the clip) before hitting him and bouncing back into the hazard. Ouch. One swing, three strokes (The Rules of Golf penalize players one-stroke for hitting themselves with their own ball, just to add insult to injury).

He triple-bogeyed the hole and finished with a 76 after carding 69 on Thursday. Yeah, that’s been Phil’s year in a nutshell.